Faculty, Staff Experts

These experts are available for on-air interviews. Uplink capabilities are provided by SIU Carbondale’s public television station, WSIU. To make arrangements, please contact Pete Rosenbery, Assistant Director, Communications and Marketing, at 618/453-1439 or via e-mail, prosen@siu.edu


Agriculture

Jeremy Davis
Associate professor, Department of Animal Science, Food and Nutrition

Expertise: Nutrition and metabolism, obesity and disorders/diseases related to it, functional foods, sports nutrition

Email: jedavis@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-1760; 765/490-8897

Wanki Moon
Professor, Department of Agribusiness Economics

Expertise: Global agricultural trade, global food system, political economy of international agricultural trade negotiations, WTO trade talks

Email: wmoon@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-6741

Charles Ruffner
Professor, Department of Forestry

Expertise: Forest fires, natural resource management, forest measurements, dendrochronology (tree rings), ecological restoration

Email: ruffner@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-7469


Anthropology

Mark Wagner
Associate Professor, Anthropology & Center for Archaeological Investigations

Expertise: Archaeology, Southern Illinois History

Email: mjwagner@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-5055


Business

Steven Karau
Gregory A. Lee professor, Department of Management, College of Business

Expertise: Human resources and organizational behavior issues, including motivation, team performance, ethical issues in management, gender leadership differences and personality.

Email: skarau@business.siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-7890


Cinema/Photography

Gary Kolb
Dean Emeritus

Expertise: Photography, Academic Administration (I'm a former Dean and Chairperson), Shawnee National Forest

Email: gkolb@siu.edu
Phone: 618/529-1823


Center for Archaeological Investigations

Tamira Brennan
Assistant Scientist

Expertise: Prehistoric Archaeology, Contract Archaeology, Native Americans, Cahokia Mounds, Kincaid Mounds, Archaeology of Southern Illinois

Email: tbrennan@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-5134


Computer Science

Banafsheh Rekabdar
Assistant Professor

Expertise: Computer Science

Email: brekabdar@cs.siu.edu
Phone: 775/954-3039


Curriculum and Instruction

Peter Fadde
Professor

Expertise: Research on training "intuitive" expertise. Consult with Major League Baseball and college baseball teams on training the perceptual component of batting, aka, Pitch Recognition. Applications of sports research to military, law enforcement, emergency response.

Email: fadde@siu.edu
Phone: 765/427-5977


Debate/Communications

Todd Graham
Director of Debate, Communication Studies

Expertise: Political debate analysis, effective argument preparation and style

Email: tgraham@siu.edu
Phone: 314/495-7278


Embedded Systems

Spyros Tragoudas
Professor and chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of Center for Embedded Systems

Expertise: Automation and embedded systems with emphasis on temporal verification and validation, delay testing, and timing analysis.

Email: spyros@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-7027


Geology

Harvey Henson
Assistant Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

Expertise: Earthquake and Geohazard Education and Outreach, STEM Education, Science Assessment, Applied Geophysics, Ground-penetrating Radar, Trail of Tears.

Email: henson@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-4214


Health Education

Aaron Diehr

Public Health and Health Education assistant professor, Department of Public Health and Recreation Professions, College of Education and Human Services

Expertise: Health education and public health

Email: aaron@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-1862 or 618/453-2777

Tina Colson

Recreation senior lecturer, and Recreation Professions undergraduate/graduate program director, Department of Public Health and Recreation Professions, College of Education and Human Services

Expertise: Planning and design of recreational facilities, facilitating therapeutic and inclusive programs for people with disabilities, training and development of leisure services employees and factors affecting employee retention.

Email: tcolson@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-1860 or 618/453-2777


Immigration Law

Cindy G. Buys
Professor, SIU School of Law

Expertise: Immigration law, International law.

Email: cbuys@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-8743


Journalism

William Freivogel
Professor, School of Journalism

Expertise: Law, media law, the U.S. Supreme Court and journalism ethics.

Email: wfreivogel@gmail.com
Phone: 314/322-0396


Linguistics

Jeffrey Punske
Assistant Professor, Department of Linguistics

Expertise: Constructed & Invented Languages, Teaching Linguistics, Games and Pedagogy, Linguistics and Space Exploration, Language Policy.

Email: punske@siu.edu
Phone: 618/536-3385


Medicine

Laurie Ryznyk
Associate Professor, School of Medicine

Expertise: Human Trafficking, Problem-Based Learning

Email: lryznyk@siu.edu
Phone: 618/559-2713


Music

Edward Benyas
Professor, School of Music

Expertise: Orchestral Music, Classical Music, Fundraising and Marketing for not-for-profit organizations, Oboe, Operas of Mozart, Verdi and Puccini, Transcriptions for wind instruments, American art music, Chamber music

Email: benyas@siu.edu
Phone: 312/560-2094


Paul Simon Public Policy Institute

John Shaw
Director

Expertise: Illinois Politics, National Politics, Statesmanship, Leadership

Email: john.shaw@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-4003

John Jackson

Expertise: Illinois Politics, Government and Public Policy, Public opinion and political parties, especially presidential selection, primaries, and national conventions. State and local government, generically, as well as Illinois and Southern Illinois.

Email: jsjacson@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-3106


Politics

J. Tobin Grant
Professor, Department of Political Science

Expertise: Religion and politics, First Amendment issues, campaign finance

Email: grant@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-3167


Religion

Darren Sherkat
Professor, Department of Sociology

Expertise: American religion, religion and politics, religion and family/sexuality, religion and ethnicity, public opinion

Email: sherkat@siu.edu


Saluki Success Program 

Gauri Pitale
Assistant Professor of Practice, Saluki Success Program

Expertise: First Year Transition Courses at SIUC campus, How to Navigate Graduate School, Anthropology

Email: gaup@siu.edu
Phone: 401/371-6427


Science 

Matt McCarroll
Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and director of the Fermentation Science Institute

Expertise: Research concentrates on the application of analytical chemistry to solve complex chemical problems with an emphasis in the area of molecular spectroscopy. He also directs collaborative efforts in researching the arts of brewers, vintners and distillers for tomorrow’s industry.

Email: mmccarroll@chem.siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-6408


Touch of Nature 

JD Tanner
Director

Expertise: Touch of Nature Outdoor Education Center, Outdoor Education, Outdoor Recreation Industry and Tourism

Email: jdtanner@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-3942


Transportation

Michael B. Behrman
Department chair, Automotive Technology

Expertise: General automotive industry; for more specific experts, can find some among instructors.

Email: mbehr@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-4024

Samuel Pavel
Associate Professor, Aviation Management and Flight

Expertise: General Aviation, Air Traffic Control

Email: spavel@siu.edu
Phone: 618/453-7269

Michael F. Robertson
Associate professor, Aviation Management and Flight

Expertise: Safety-related issues, accidents and human factors issues

Phone: 618/925-3589 (cell)
Email: mrobertson@siu.edu

Jose R. Ruiz
Professor, Aviation Management and Flight

Expertise: Aviation safety, aviation education, aviation career development, aviation management, and general aviation

Phone: 618/453-8898
Email: jruiz@siu.edu