Scholarship recipients and university officials

Rend Lake College students, from left, Derek Sample, Cooper Hemby and Maggie Stacey, celebrate receiving Provost Scholarships with SIU Provost Sheryl A. Tucker (fifth from left) and other university officials. (Photo provided)  

April 24, 2024

SIU Carbondale awards 2024 Provost’s Scholarships to community college students

CARBONDALE, Ill. — Twelve high achieving community college students from Illinois have received Southern Illinois University Carbondale’s 2024 Provost’s Scholarships, which cover tuition and mandatory fees for two years.

SIU Carbondale Provost Sheryl Tucker and other university officials paid surprise visits last week to present SIU’s most prestigious transfer student award and congratulate seven of the students from three local community colleges: Shawnee Community College, John A. Logan College and Rend Lake College. The remaining five scholarship recipients learned of their awards during a Zoom session on April 18.

Sheryl A. Tucker, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs, said the scholarship fits well with the Imagine 2030 strategic plan and its pillar of student success.

“It is a pleasure to award these scholarships and welcome these bright, hard-working students to the Saluki family,” she said. “They have imagined their roles in making the world a better place, and then they strive to make their vision a reality, even when it means defying the odds.”

One-hundred-fifty-three community college students competed in the selection process. Selected students demonstrate high academic achievement, have a strong record of leadership in their communities and participate in numerous extracurricular activities. The award is renewable, contingent upon the students maintaining a 3.0 or higher GPA.

The students, by hometown, are:

  • Anna: Hayley Davis, Shawnee Community College, management.
  • Aurora: Isidro Pina, Waubonsee Community College, automotive technology.
  • Carbondale: Emily Fulk, John A. Logan College, journalism.
  • Johnston City: Cara Cullum, John A. Logan College, elementary education.
  • Mount Vernon: Cooper Hemby, Rend Lake College, accounting.
  • Percy: Kody Behnken, John A. Logan College, electrical engineering.
  • Pocahontas: Joseph Vonbokel, Kaskaskia College, agricultural systems and education.
  • Sesser: Derek Sample, Rend Lake College, agricultural systems and education (teacher education program).
  • Sesser: Maggie Stacey, Rend Lake College, hospitality, tourism, and event management.
  • Tunnel Hill: Alexis Goddard, Southeastern Illinois College, mathematics (teacher education program).
  • West Frankfort: Kile Britten, John A. Logan College, radiologic sciences.
  • West Frankfort: Autumn Ridlen, John A. Logan College, nursing.

SIU Carbondale offers various scholarships to transfer students. For more information on the university’s scholarships and financial aid, contact Amber Rivers, associate director of scholarships in the Financial Aid Office, at or 618-453-4628.