Saluki Plaza

May 26, 2023

SIU Alumni Association awards more than $75K in student scholarships

CARBONDALE, Ill. — The SIU Alumni Association is awarding $75,099 to about 60 new and returning Southern Illinois University Carbondale students for the 2023 fall semester.

Funded by association members and donors throughout the year, students are receiving awards from funds administered by the association, including 18 regional and legacy scholarships, 25 textbook awards and six stipends given by the Black Alumni Group. The goal of these scholarships is to help students fill critical gaps in their financial aid packages. 

Awards this year range from a few hundred dollars to $5,000. The money awarded goes to expenses, such as tuition and fees, as well as textbook rental or purchase costs. Scholarship recipients are from Illinois, Alabama, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri and Tennessee. 

“Students today have more challenges than ever in their college experiences. Finding the money to continue is often chief among them,” said Jeff Gleim, executive director of the SIU Alumni Association. “That’s why I’m so proud our alumni step up each year to support these scholarships and help us deliver on funding that means the world to these students.” 

Funding for many of the scholarships awarded to students each year comes from regional chapters of the association. Chapters and groups periodically host events to fundraise for these awards, such as the St. Louis Area Chapter, which earlier this year garnered more than $4,000 during its annual trivia night. Alumni in these chapters also ask for gifts to these scholarship funds during the annual SIU Day of Giving. 

“Our alumni chapters and groups are great extensions of Saluki pride across Illinois and the country, but more importantly, they play a role in introducing prospective students to the opportunities they can find at SIU,” said Cathie Mieldezis, the association’s director of constituent relations. “It’s exciting to see alumni in all these regions help new students attend SIU, and it’s critical they continue to do so.” 

For more information about association scholarship funds available to current and prospective students, visit

Scholarship recipients for the 2023-24 academic year are: 


  • Albion: Landon Greatline, Rebecca and Jerry Kill SIU Alumni Association Scholarship, $900.
  • Benton: Braelyn Miller, Keith and Carol Sanders Alumni Scholarship, $5,000; also received alumni association textbook award.
  • Brookfield: Olivia Mitchell, Support Black Undergraduate Education Endowed Scholarship, $4,000; also received Black Alumni Group book stipend.
  • Carbondale: Amilia Estrada, Jackson County Family YMCA Scholarship, $1,000.
  • Carbondale: Makenna Hammond, Jackson County Chapter Scholarship, $900.
  • Carbondale: Jacob Hoppenstedt, Elizabeth Lewis Memorial Scholarship, $4,000.
  • Carbondale: Jacob Hull, Jackson County Chapter Scholarship, $900.
  • Carbondale: Layal Oues, Jackson County Family YMCA Scholarship, $1,000.
  • Carbondale: Cassidy Potter-Kirch, Jackson County Family YMCA Scholarship, $1,000.
  • Carbondale: Samuel Wang, Jackson County Chapter Scholarship, $900.
  • Carlinville: Jackson Yeager, St. Louis Chapter Scholarship, $1,000.
  • Carlyle: Mackenzie Ebmeyer, Roscoe Pulliam Memorial Scholarship, $2,000.
  • Chicago: Oumar Korehala, Support Black Undergraduate Education Endowed Scholarship, $4,000; also received Black Alumni Group Book Stipend.
  • Chicago: Daeshawn Vinson, Roscoe Pulliam Memorial Scholarship, $2,000.
  • Cobden: Jesse Carmona, Union County Chapter Scholarship, $1,000.
  • Cobden: Connor Hartline, Roscoe Pulliam Memorial Scholarship, $2,000.
  • Du Quoin: Gage Morganstern, Perry County Chapter Scholarship, $138.79.
  • Du Quoin: Bailey Nehring, Alongi Legacy Scholarship, $1,000.
  • Effingham: Cecilia Castillo, Rebecca and Jerry Kill SIU Alumni Association Scholarship, $900.
  • Harrisburg: Rachel Hutchison, Saline County Chapter Scholarship, $164.08.
  • Johnston City: Logan Forcum, Williamson County Chapter Scholarship, $856.60.
  • Kappa: Lennon Adams, Peoria Tri-County Chapter Scholarship, $331.44.
  • Lyons: Yamile Martinez, Chicagoland Chapter, Scholarship, $234.90.
  • Marion: Samuel Deiters, Legacy Scholarship, $2,500.
  • Murphysboro: Drew Caldwell, Legacy Scholarship, $2,500.
  • Pinckneyville: Evan Cheek, Roscoe Pulliam Memorial Scholarship, $2,000.
  • Red Bud: Matthew Koester, Randolph County Chapter Scholarship, $373.60.
  • Shipman: Paige Randolph, Prairie Capitol Chapter Scholarship, $1,000.
  • West Frankfort: Lindan Berthoux, Keith and Carol Sanders Alumni Scholarship, $5,000. 

Receiving $1,000 textbook award recipients by hometown are:


  • Benton: Braelyn Miller.
  • Carbon Cliff: Rachel Cottrell.
  • Carbondale: Aren Abell.
  • Carbondale: Dania Abou-Jabal.
  • Carterville: Madison Fleege.
  • Cobden: Emily White.
  • Du Quoin: Sarah Lynd.
  • East Peoria: Isabella Brooks.
  • Gardner: Jack James.
  • Genoa: Citlali Serna.
  • Granite City: Victoria Montgomery.
  • Herrin: Jeremiah Stemm.
  • Herrin: Tyler Worthen.
  • Metropolis: Mya Porche’.
  • Mount Carmel: Jimmy Lin.
  • Moweaqua: Payton Creamer.
  • Murphysboro: Yasmina Amley.
  • Paris: Kiley Will.
  • Roscoe: Abby Barrett.
  • Saint Charles: Abigail Soltesz.
  • Springfield: Molly Fawns. 


  • Bowling Green: Jaycee Patterson. 


  • Abita Springs: Kilynn Engelhardt. 


  • Wentzville: Jacob Rothenberger. 


  • Bolivar: Hannah Searles. 

Receiving $250 Black Alumni Group Book Stipend Awards:


  • Brookfield: Olivia Mitchell.
  • Carbondale: Shanieka Eldemire.
  • Chicago: Kiely Burns.
  • Chicago: Oumar Korehala. 


  • Owens Cross Roads: David Driver. 


  • Olathe: Bella Musselman.