September 29, 2020

SIU Carbondale awards 25 Transfer Achievement Scholarships for 2020-21

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. — Southern Illinois University Carbondale is awarding 25 academically high-achieving students who also demonstrate leadership skills with Transfer Achievement Scholarships for 2020-2021.

The scholarships are awarded for two years.  Students have earned a 3.5 transfer GPA and earned an associate degree prior to attending SIU. Students participated in a competitive interview to earn this award.

Transfer Achievement Scholars are listed by hometown, name, community college and major.


Ava: Danyelle R. Eilers, John A. Logan College, human nutrition and dietetics.

Beardstown: Yulissa B. Lucha-Miron, Lincoln Land Community College, accounting.

Beardstown: Yanely I. Moreno Montoya, Kirkwood Community College, radio, television, and digital media.

Beardstown: Eduardo Munoz, Kirkwood Community College, electrical engineering.

Centralia: Kelsey M. Morris, Kaskaskia College, radiologic sciences.

Charleston: Chelsea M. Black, Lake Land College, biomedical sciences.

DeSoto: Mackenzie N. Snyder, John A. Logan College, biological sciences/

Effingham: Tristen N. Jones, Lake Land College, rehabilitation services.

Eldorado: Whitney D. Kuhlmann, Southeastern Illinois College, psychology.

Harrisburg: Christian J. Murray, Southeastern Illinois College, communication studies.

Harrisburg: Abby M. O’Hara, Southeastern Illinois College, elementary education.

Harrisburg: Bridget V. Payne, Southeastern Illinois College, agricultural systems and education.

Harrisburg: Carter M. Reed, Southeastern Illinois College, theater.

Kingston: Megan Blake Renwick, Kishwaukee College, zoology.

Marion: David M. Orange, John A. Logan College, radio, television, and digital media.

Marion: Erin H. Philpott, John A. Logan College, English.

Montrose: Penny B. Flood, Lake Land College, agribusiness economics.

Murphysboro: Clayton L. Berger, John A. Logan College, accounting.

Newton: Dalton A. Cantrell, Illinois Eastern Community Colleges, civil engineering.

Oakland: Rebecca K. Royer, Lake Land College, agribusiness economics.

Pittsburg: Morgan R. Dodd, John A. Logan College, communication disorders and sciences.

Teutopolis: Taylor K. Hartke, Lake Land College, agricultural systems and education.

West Frankfort: Mary K. Linsley, Rend Lake College, radiologic sciences. 


Bonne Terre: Riley Elizabeth McFerron, Mineral Area College, radiologic sciences.

St. Louis: Caroline Marie Appel, St. Louis Community College, special education.

To learn more, visit or contact the university’s Academic Scholarship Office at 618/453-4628.