October 06, 2015

‘alt.news 26:46’ captures 31st regional Emmy

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. – “alt.news 26:46,” the long-running television magazine program produced by College of Mass Communication and Media Arts students at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, earned another honor this weekend with a regional Emmy. 

The program earned its 31st regional professional Emmy for a show produced during the 2014-15 school year. The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Mid-America Regional Chapter held its 39th annual awards ceremony Oct. 3 in St. Louis. The regional Emmy awards program honors outstanding achievement in television markets primarily in Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Illinois and surrounding designated market areas, or DMAs. 

“alt.news 26:46” was one of five nominees in the magazine program category. 

“I’m very proud of what our students have been able to achieve in the professional world,” Jan Thompson, a professor in the Department of Radio, Television, and Digital Media, and the program’s adviser, said. “Few, if any professional television shows, can point to 31 Emmys.” 

Episode 16.03 features “Repair Days” at the Metal Museum in Memphis, Tenn.; a look at the annual Skunkfest in North Ridgeville, Ohio; the Exotic Feline Rescue Center in Center Point, Ind.; the non-profit “Cleaning for a Reason,” and the world’s only underground zipline course at the Louisville Mega Cavern in Kentucky. The episode is available at https://vimeo.com/114436048.  

“That our students are competing with professional television stations in states such as Missouri and Kansas and winning reveals a lot about the quality of education they are getting in our college, the talent and dedication that they have for the media arts, and the wonderful adviser -- Jan Thompson -- who works with them,” Dean Dafna Lemish said.  “What a great group of creative and hardworking young people.” 

Dallen Detamore, a 2015 graduate in radio, television, and digital media from Germantown, Tenn., and Holden Jones, a senior from Jacksonville, who is a double major in cinema production and television production, were the program’s executive producers for the 2014-15 season. Jones accepted the award on behalf of the group. 

The season’s staff included students Wilmon Black, Jim Egan, Amber Eswani, Evan Fait, Emily Jelinek, Seth Lesemann, Paul Mindrup, Emily Neal, Emily Rawden, and Peter Wilkerson. 

Jones and Jelinek, a junior in English, are co-producers this year. 

The program also has seven first-place College Television Awards.