May 14, 2015

‘Forever SIU,’ ceremonies, highlight commencement weekend

The third “Forever SIU: A Commencement Celebration” on Friday, May 15, will celebrate the members of the Class of 2015 and their families.  Festivities are set for 6:30 to 9 p.m. in the SIU Arena parking lot. SIU President Randy Dunn will welcome graduates and their families.  

Commencement ceremonies will take place Friday and Saturday, May 15 and 16. There are 3,208 candidates for degrees (including 3,134 for the Carbondale campus and 74 for the School of Medicine’s Springfield graduation). 

Here is the schedule of the ceremonies, with their keynote speaker: 

Friday, May 15 

  • 3 p.m. Shryock Auditorium: School of Law

U.S. District Judge Nancy J. Rosentengal, a 1993 law school graduate, is the commencement speaker. 

Saturday, May 16 

  • 9 a.m. -- SIU Arena: College of Agricultural Sciences, College of Liberal Arts, College of Science, School of Medicine. 

Former Illinois Gov. Jim Edgar is the commencement speaker and will receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Arts degree. Michael J. “Mike” Lawrence, former director of the Paul Simon Public Policy Institute, and surgeon and university philanthropist Dr. Marsha G. Ryan will receive distinguished service awards. 

  • 1:30 p.m. -- SIU Arena: College of Business, College of Education and Human Services. 

Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner is the commencement speaker, and the late Dixie Fortis will receive an honorary Doctor of Commerce degree posthumously. 

  • 3 p.m. -- Sangamon Auditorium, University of Illinois Springfield: School of Medicine

Dr. Michael LaComb, professor of medicine and medical humanities at the University of New England and cardiologist at Maine General Medical Center, is the commencement speaker. 

  • 5:30 p.m. -- College of Applied Sciences and Arts, College of Engineering, College of Mass Communication and Media Arts. 

Alumnus and retired United Airlines Capt. William R. Norwood, a former member of the SIU Board of Trustees, is the commencement speaker and will receive an honorary Doctor of Aviation Science degree.