October 31, 2013

Inventor awardees announced

The organizers and sponsors of the 2013 SIU Technology and Innovation Expo congratulate our inventor award winners:
Inventor of the Year: David Lightfoot, plant, soil and agricultural systems, College of Agricultural Sciences, seven issued patents since 1999 involving crop productivity and disease resistance. 

Innovator of the Year: Peter Fadde, curriculum and instruction, College of Education and Human Services, computer applications for training expert perceptual skills in sports.

Startup Company of the Year: Paul Chugh, mining and mineral resources engineering, College of Engineering, Minerals Development Technologies, Inc., which will initially focus on dust control technologies for continuous mining machines.

Student Startup of the Year: Bryce Morrison, Tom Harness, Jonathan Bening, Geoff Veliz, Aarika Price for orderbolt, the new premiere mobile payment platform.