February 04, 2013

Forums for Undergraduate Research finalists set

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Open forum times and locations are set for the remaining three candidates who are seeking to become director of the Center for Undergraduate Research at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.

The five candidates are: Pamela J. Barnes, a former administrator at Southeast Missouri State University; Rodrigo Carramiñana, associate professor at St. Augustine College in Chicago; Janette Howard, a housing officer with University Housing at SIU Carbondale; Rhetta M. Seymour, associate director of the McNair Scholars Program at SIU Carbondale, and Michael Cochise Young, former director of The Flinn Scholars Program for The Flinn Foundation.

Howard and Seymour held their open forums last week.

The remaining forum schedule is:

  • Young, 10 to 10:45 a.m., Friday, Feb. 8, in the University Museum Auditorium.
  • Carramiñana,10 to 10:45 a.m., Feb. 13, in the University Museum Auditorium.
  • Barnes,10 to 10:45 a.m., Feb. 14, in the John C. Guyon Auditorium at Morris Library.

The director will be responsible for a variety of areas that include strategic planning and program development; advising students and coordinating faculty mentors; organizing and implementing undergraduate research related forums, seminars, institutes, research opportunity programs, awards competitions and informational sources, and also support continuing recruiting and retention efforts.

The forums, which will include a presentation by the candidates, will give University students, staff and faculty an opportunity to meet with the candidates and ask questions about their proposed approaches to the position and will be done in conjunction with their interview for the position.

Full curriculum vitas and evaluation forms for the five candidates are available at pvcaa.siuc.edu/searches.html.  This site is restricted to on-campus or VPN-connected viewing only.

The Center for Undergraduate Research will bring together the following programs and units: Undergraduate Assistantships, Students Promoting Education and Research (SPEAR), Research Enriched Academic Challenge (REACH), McNair Scholars Program, Saluki Research Rookies, and the Illinois Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation.