December 01, 2011

Automotive technology students win scholarships

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Nineteen students enrolled in Southern Illinois University Carbondale’s nationally recognized automotive technology program received scholarships earlier this fall.

Automotive industry executives presented the scholarships at the annual Automotive Technology Advisory Committee student meeting in October. Students received more than $26,000 in scholarships and awards. There was one partial tuition waiver scholarship.

“We thank our alumni, friends, and the automotive industry for their generosity and support of students and their education. It is through their actions that we are able to provide this financial assistance to some very well deserving students,” said Michael B. Behrmann, associate professor and chair of the Department of Automotive Technology.

“Being accepted into this nation’s premier automotive training program is just one of many hurdles these students have overcome. They are challenged daily by our outstanding faculty and are dedicated to advancing their knowledge of technical and business operations presented to them,” he said.  “Our students are highly respected in the industry and are actively recruited very early on in their academic career for paid corporate internships, some of which also include furnished apartments for housing beyond their typical pay and can begin as early as their freshmen year in the program.”

The automotive technology program is within the College of Applied Sciences and Arts.  The program will move next summer to the Transportation Education Center at Southern Illinois Airport.  The facility will also house the University’s nationally recognized aviation programs.  Construction is set for completion in July.

Scholarship winners by hometown, year in school, scholarship and award amount where available, are:


  • Addison:  Richard W. Dietzler, senior, Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois and Ralph Silverman Memorial Scholarship, $500.

  • Batavia: Ryan P. Unruh, American Honda Motor Company/Tim Jones Scholarship, $500; L.D. Willey Outstanding Student of the Year Award, $800.

  • Calumet Park:  Amanda C. Shine, senior, Edward Wright Memorial Scholarship, $1,000.

  • Carbondale:  Kyaw-Thiha Tun, junior, Duncan and Wilma Lampman Scholarship, $1,000.

  • Carbondale:  Jin Hyung Woo, junior, Bridgestone/Firestone, Inc., Scholarship, $1,000.

  • Centreville:  Julius C. Goodwin, Jr., sophomore, Duncan and Wilma Lampman Scholarship, $1,000.

  • Dakota:  Aaron D. Huston, junior, Edward Wright Memorial Scholarship, $1,000.

  • Des Plaines:  Shant B. Alexanian, senior, General Motors SIU Carbondale Alumni Automotive Technology Scholarship, $600.

  • Des Plaines: Hrag Arakelian, senior, Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A. Inc., Scholarship, $3,000.

  • Du Quoin:  Jacob B. Stanhouse, freshman, Dale Flener Scholarship, $800, and CASA partial tuition waiver scholarship.

  • Fairview Heights:  Adel B. Sueifan, senior, Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc., Scholarship, $3,000.

  • Freeburg:  Tyler M. Fellows, junior, Arthur T. Ross Scholarship, $500.

  • Hoffman Estates:  Michael J. Adamczyk, junior, Mossie Oak Automotive Technology Scholarship, $3,000.

  • Mount Prospect:  Salvatore R. Canale, junior, Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc., Scholarship, $3,000.

  • Roscoe:  Kyle A. Gilbert, senior, James W. White Scholarship, $1,000.

  • St. Joseph:  Matthew L. Silver, junior, Advantage Technical Resource -- Ford Motor Company Scholarship, $1,000.

  • Troy: Andrew Putz, junior, Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois and Ralph Silverman Memorial Scholarship, $500.


  • Florissant: Michael E. Kinder, senior, General Motors Customer Cares and Aftersales Scholarship, $2,000.

  • St. Louis:  Joseph D. Brungardt, junior, General Motors Customer Cares and Aftersales Scholarship, $2,000.