September 30, 2011

University gives top scholarship to three freshmen

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Three incoming students at Southern Illinois University Carbondale are receiving recognition for their outstanding efforts in the classroom and their communities as Presidential/Chancellor Scholars.

The students are among 26 students chosen this year to receive the SIUC Presidential/Chancellor Scholar designation, one of the University’s top awards.  The competitive scholarships cover tuition, fees, and room and board for four years at the University.

Each scholarship is based on ACT or SAT scores and class rank provided at the time of admission.  Potential candidates go through an interview process, and successful applicants have leadership roles in their community and give back to their schools and community. 

Successful applicants are those viewed as becoming effective leaders who will continue to excel in the classroom along with showing exceptional leadership skills both on campus and throughout the community.

The University received more than 250 applications, with 100 scholarship semifinalists invited to interviews in February.

The late SIU President James E. Walker established the scholarships in 2001.  The scholarships are the most prestigious and most comprehensive that the University awards each year.

The award is renewable for all four years as long as students maintain at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.  The presidential scholarship is worth almost $80,000.

The announcement of this year’s earlier winners was in May.  The three new scholarship winners, by hometown are:


Morgan L. Schulte, Mater Dei Catholic High School, is the daughter of Jeff and Dorise Schulte.  She was an Illinois State Scholar, a member of the National Honor Society and member of the 2011 all-sectional Scholar Bowl team.  She was also third in the Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering (WYSE) for math.  Schulte was a member of her school’s soccer team, editor of the school newspaper, a student ambassador, involved in her church’s youth ministry and a member of Camp Ondessonk Lodge near Ozark.  She is majoring in forestry.


Sara Johnson, Warren Township High School, is the daughter of Thomas and Doretha Johnson.  She was a member of the National Honor Society, an all-academic all-athletic scholar and a member of service organizations “Top Teens of America,” and “People to People International.”  She was a member of her school’s bowling team, a French tutor, Girl Scouts, and her church’s sound ministry.  She is majoring in hospitality and tourism administration.


Tyler Meyer, Nashville Community High School, is the son of Kevin and Carolyn Meyer.  He was an Illinois State Scholar, member of the National Honor Society and a WYSE state finalist.  He ranked No. 1 in his graduating class and was an Illinois High School Association All-State Academic Team Honorable Mention.  A three-year varsity starter in football, basketball and baseball, Meyer was a member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes and a volunteer with the Washington County Food Pantry.  He is majoring in engineering.