June 29, 2011

Theater students capture scholarships

by Andrea Hahn

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Behind-the-scenes theater students at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, as well as on-the-stage acting students, earned scholarships from the Department of Theater at the close of the academic year.

Heidi Larson, a graduate student from Stevensville, Mich., received the Mordecai Gorelik Award for Excellence in Scenic Design. Recently, Larson handled scene design for the production of “Crazy for You.”

Meghan O’Rourke, a senior from Glenview, received several scholarships and awards, including the James L. Moody Award for Excellence in Lighting Design; the Outstanding Service in Theater award, presented to a student who contributes to the Department of Theater by serving on committees and student organizations and for representing the department at community and University functions; a Department of Theater Tuition Waiver Scholarship; and a Verizon Theater Scholarship.

Britney Benson, a senior from Joliet, also received a Verizon Theater Scholarship, presented to outstanding students majoring in theater, and a Department of Theater Tuition Waiver Scholarship.

Other Tuition Waiver Scholarship winners are:

• Cayman Bone, currently of Carbondale

• Will Coeur, Hamilton

• Lauren Conner, currently of Carbondale

• Angie Fisher, Herrin

• Adam Floro, Marion

• Joshua Kimball, Benton

• Samantha Meyers, currently of Carbondale

• Jason Miller, Edwardsville

• Lawrence O’Neill, Marion

• Michelle Wiggins, Normal

Courtney Self, from Topeka, Kan., received the Outstanding Graduate Student in Theater Award. Some of Self’s recent SIUC theater activity includes directing roles in “Into the Woods,” “Company,” and “Crazy for You.”

Christian H. Moe Playwriting Awards are presented by category. Recipients are:

• Best Long Play, Erin Zimmerman Moss, currently of Carbondale

• Best Long Play, Honorable Mention, David Clark, currently of Carbondale

• Best Short Play, David Clark, currently of Carbondale

• Best Short Play, Honorable Mention, Will Coeur, Hamilton

Awards for Excellence in Performance obviously go to students who act in SIUC Department of Theater productions. Ben Ponce, Carbondale, and Carl Herzog, Wilmore, Ky., received those awards. Ponce, a sophomore, played the lead role in the recent production of Shakespeare’s “Macbeth.” Herzog, a senior, played the lead in the recent production of the musical “Crazy for You.”

Herzog also earned the Archibald McLeod Award for Academic Excellence, presented to a theater student with an outstanding academic record.

For more information about the SIUC Department of Theater, including upcoming productions, visit www.theater.siuc.edu.