June 27, 2011

Speech Communication students win awards

by Andrea Hahn

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Phyllis A. Allen, a senior speech major from Jerseyville, earned the Elizabeth Lance Public Relations Student Award at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.

The Department of Speech Communication presents the award to a student with high academic achievements and willingness to take a leadership role. The winning student must also be a member of the SIUC chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America.

Allen also earned an Outstanding Senior in Speech Communication award. Other students who earned this award are:

• Heather A. Abell, Carterville

• Linny Jo Bookhout, Salem

• Darlyshia A. Cherry, Belleville

• Rachel E. Crow, McLeansboro

• Savanna Y. Ramsey, Aurora

• David A. Ranalli, Park Ridge

• Alecia K. Wildman, Strasburg

Abell also earned the Paul Hibbs Award, an award presented to an outstanding speech communication major based on scholarship and participation in speech communication activities.

Brandon Merrell, Snohomish, Wash., also earned the Lavina Micken Award for Excellence in Debate from the Department of Speech Communication. Merrell was part of the SIUC Debate Team, and one half of the duo that placed third in the nation as determined at the National Parliamentary Debate Association. He also earned one of two Frank L. Klingburg Youth World Scholarships from the Department of Political Science.

Michael L. Selck, Blue Springs, Mo., Merrell’s debate teammate, earned the Outstanding Sophomore in Speech Communication award, the only sophomore to do so.

Several students also earned Outstanding Junior in Speech Communication awards. They are:

• Lenny J. Bolton, St. Joseph

• Veronica S. Greuel, Sullivan

• Arielle Jamison, Chicago

• Chelsea R. Reardon, LaGrange

• John E. Schumacher, Arlington Heights

To learn more about the Department of Speech Communication at SIUC, visit http://speechcommunication.siuc.edu/.