August 20, 2010

Event will honor employees for years of service

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Southern Illinois University Carbondale will honor 97 employees for their service at a retirement and service recognition dinner.

The event is Wednesday, Aug. 25, in the Student Center Ballrooms. A reception begins at 6 p.m. in the John W. Corker Lounge. Dinner begins at 6:30 p.m.

Chancellor Rita Cheng and her husband, Tom Cheng, will host the evening’s festivities. Jak Tichenor, a producer with SIUC Broadcasting Service, is master of ceremonies.

The University will recognize the following employees, listed by hometown and years of service.



25 years: Kathy L. Capel, Institutional Research and Studies.

30 years: Lisa M. Hartline, Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems.


25 years: Elizabeth E. Cottom, Flight Services.


25 years: Judith A. Rose, University Ombudsman.


25 years: Om Prakash Agrawal, Mechanical Engineering and Energy Processes; Linda J. Basler, College of Education and Human Services; Nazeih M. Botros, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Cheryl Carter, Workforce Education and Development; Carla E. Coppi, International Students and Scholars; Patricia A. Cosgrove, Information Technology; Richard H. Fifarek, Geology; Samuel Goldman, Office of the Chancellor; Peter Hardwicke, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Frank G. Houdek, School of Law; David Jennings, Department of Public Safety; Rodney G. Jones, English; Debbie Latoza, College of Applied Sciences and Arts; James L. LeBeau, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice; Mizanur Rahman Miah, School of Social Work; Karen Stoelzle Midden, Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems; Barbara A. Mueller, Alumni Association; Michelle P, Neill, International Programs and Services; Pamela K. Nicita-McDonald, Graduate School; Elizabeth O’Neil, School of Law; Judy S. Rains, Zoology; Michele R. Rushing, College of Agricultural Sciences; Daniel W. Schumacher, University Housing; Joe W. Swindell, Broadcasting Service; Pamela A. Umlauf-Brown, Student Health Center; Linda K. Vineyard, School of Law; Mary J. Wallace, Financial Aid Office; Mark J. Wetstein, Broadcasting Service; David J. White, College of Applied Sciences and Arts School of Architecture; Cheryl J. Wilson, Office of Teacher Education; Tomasz Wiltowski, Mechanical Engineering and Energy Processes.

30 years: Pamela J. Anderson, Micrographics; Rosemary L. Clam, Library Affairs; William V. Crimando, Rehabilitation Institute; Barbara G. Elam, Student Health Center; Nancy Esling, Bursar; Barbara Eaglen Grace, Curriculum and Instruction; Sakthivel Jeyaratnam, Mathematics; Aslam Kassimali, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Sharon A. Shrock, Curriculum and Instruction; Mary H. Wright, Mathematics.

35 years: Lynn M. Connley, University Ombudsman.


25 years: Lyle D. Fuchs, Cinema and Photography; Dana G. McKenzie, College of Science; Karen M. Parks, University Housing; Bryan C. Vagner, SIU Foundation Carbondale; Pamela J. Walls, College of Liberal Arts; Tammy L. Winter, Library Affairs.

30 years: Rebecca S. Armstrong, Professional Constituencies Office; Michael C. Bernardoni, Printing and Duplicating Service; Joseph Breznikar, School of Music.


25 years: M. Jacob Baggott, Office of the Chancellor; Patrick C. Brumleve, University Housing; Joy L. Carter, Center for English as a Second Language; Sandra F. Partridge, Accounting Services.

De Soto

25 years: Christina L. Rich, Paul Simon Public Policy Institute; Donna J. Schumaier, Curriculum and Instruction.


30 years: Martha P. Samples, College of Applied Sciences and Arts.

Du Quoin

25 years: Stephen M. McCrary, University Housing.


25 years: Barbara E. Reaves, Curriculum and Instruction.


25 years: Ray M. Adams, Research Development and Administration.


25 years: Robert E. Bateman, Human Resources; Charles A. Groves, College of Engineering; Kenneth W. Sneed, Department of Public Safety.

Johnston City

25 years: Donna S. Lipe, Graduate School.


25 years: Marla M. Fuller, SIU Foundation Carbondale.


25 years: David G. Gilbert, Psychology; Linda L. Wheetley, Payroll;

Timothy J. White, Physical Plant Service.

30 years: Joseph L. Yucas, Mathematics.


25 years: Gayle Y. England, Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor; Linda L. Floro, Recreational Sports and Services; Paula A. Hanks, Bursar.


25 years: Thomas M. Alexander, Philosophy; Michael Barta, School of Music; Gary R. Bernhardt, Information Technology; Stephen O. Buhman, University Communications; Valerie J. Draves, AIS Office; Marilyn A. Haworth, College of Mass Communication and Media Arts; Lydia Aguon Lawless, Aerospace Studies-Air Force ROTC; Lisa D. Stearns, Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor; Daniel M. Stover, Budget Office.

30 years: Mariann M. Baratta, University Housing; W. Eugene Basanta, School of Law; Ron L. Heiple, Physical Plant Service; Kimberly A. Jaros, Student Health Center; Jeri L. Novara, Accountancy; Stephen T. Tyman, Philosophy; Alan C. Vaux, College of Liberal Arts.

35 years: Kathleen M. Blackwell, Human Resources.


25 years: Robert L. Clinton, Political Science.



30 years: Ava J. Wills, College of Applied Sciences and Arts Off-Campus Academic Programs.


Lake San Marcos

25 years: Mary P. Brauer, College of Applied Sciences and Arts Off-Campus Academic Programs.