August 10, 2010

Inspiring Women scholarships, grants announced

by Emily Hunsaker

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- The Inspiring Women program at Southern Illinois University Carbondale recently announced the award of seven scholarships and 10 grants to SIUC students.

The recipients of the Inspiring Women Scholarships are Amy Cain (Tamms), a freshman majoring in radiologic sciences, and Shae Price (Coello), a freshman majoring in special education.

Abby Bateman (Murphysboro), a pre-physician assistant major, earned the Helen Gilbert Inspiring Women Scholarship.

The Inspiring Women Our Mothers’ Scholarship recipient is business major Hillary Johnston (Pinckneyville). The establishment of this scholarship honors donors’ mothers, grandmothers or other women whose lives significantly impacted the donors’ lives.

Students earning a scholarship for the second year are Keshia Edwards (Carbondale), a sophomore majoring in journalism, and Emma Kiesling (Carterville), a sophomore majoring in physical therapy.

The Inspiring Women Scholarships are renewable scholarships, depending on full-time enrollment, cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 and involvement in University or community activities. Eligible applicants are incoming freshmen with an ACT composite score of at least 24, a high school rank in the top 25 percent of their class, and demonstrated involvement in leadership and extra-curricular activities during high school. The annual Women Scholarship Gala funds the scholarships.

Elisha McDowell (Mount Vernon), a senior majoring in elementary education, received the Margaret H. Steele Memorial Scholarship. This award is given to a transfer student who is a community college graduate and enrolled as an elementary education major. The scholarship is renewable for one year as long as the scholarship recipient maintains a 3.0 grade point average and demonstrates university or community involvement. The Margaret H. Steele Memorial Scholarship Endowment funds this scholarship.

The program also awarded grants to 10 continuing students with demonstrated financial need. Grant recipients are:

• Carrie Auxier (Rochester) -- a senior majoring in communication disorders and sciences

• Bradley Bauer (Gillespie) -- a senior majoring in political science with pre-law specialization

• Rachael Berbano (Taylorville) -- a senior majoring in communication disorders and sciences

• Ashley Galloway (Louisvile) -- a senior majoring in social work

• Nicholas Gresham (Chicago) -- a junior majoring in radio and television, and political science

• Payton Lindsay (Creal Springs) -- a senior majoring in engineering, and mathematics

• Laurel Mabry (Berwick) -- a senior majoring in elementary education

• Natalie Pivoney (Effingham) -- a junior majoring in art education

• Christopher Pueblo (Carbondale) -- a senior majoring in physics

• Alexandra Rude (Rockford) -- a senior majoring in English education

The seventh annual Inspiring Women Scholarship Gala is set to begin at 5:30 p.m. on Oct. 23 at the SIUC Student Center. For reservations, visit the Inspiring Women website at or call 618/453-1339. Reservations are due by Oct. 15.

For more information about Inspiring Women scholarships and grants, contact Terri Harfst at 618/453-4628.