July 14, 2010

Academic, community service efforts recognized

by Christi Mathis

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Southern Illinois University Carbondale honored people and groups on campus for their contributions during the 2009-2010 school year during the annual Celebration of Leadership and Involvement.

Student Development hosted the program at the Student Center in appreciation of accomplishments and contributions in the classroom and the surrounding community. Students claimed a variety of scholarships and honors.

Jessica Herring and Rhonda Steidley shared the Morris Award for Excellence in Community Service. Herring is an elementary education major from Murphysboro while Steidley is a plant and soil science major from Hettick. The award, chosen on the basis of nominations from community organizations, goes to students and/or Registered Student Organizations that demonstrate excellence and are committed to community service.

Seven students earned the Presidential Volunteer Service Award, recognizing them for volunteering more than 100 hours in areas designated by the President’s Council on Civic Participation. Those recognized, listed by hometown with major, include:

East Moline

• Andrew Dennhardt, zoology. Dennhardt also won the 2010 Service to Southern Award, the highest honor on campus for involvement in co-curricular activities. It goes annually to a graduating senior.

• Arielle Thibodeaux, social work.


• R. Mason Sloan, economics. Sloan was also one of the winners of the 2009-2010 Multi-Ethnic Academic Excellence Awards.

Mt. Vernon

• Gary Ferguson, social work.

New Lenox

• Toni Manzella, social work.

Oak Forest

• Harrison Sanders, mechanical engineering.


• Samuel Hughes, physiology.

The Business Leadership Council won the title of Most Improved RSO while Donna Margolis took honors as the Outstanding RSO Adviser for her work with the Business Leadership Council. Margolis is also assistant dean in the College of Business. The Association of Technology, Management and Applied Engineering claimed the title of Outstanding RSO while Oops Entertainment won the Spirit of Diversity award.

Also winning individual scholarships and honors, listed by hometown with major and brief explanation of award/scholarship, were:


• Maximus Hardee, recreation, won the Non-Traditional Student Service Activity Scholarship, awarded to a full-time undergraduate non-traditional student who illustrates commitment to academics and involvement in the campus community.

• Tamicka Monson, computer engineering, won the Piper-McMahan Endowed Scholarship, awarded to a full-time non-traditional sophomore, junior or senior who attended high school in Jackson County.


• Travis Bedwell, aviation flight, won the Steve Harris Outstanding Treasurer award for his work with the Student Alumni Council.


• Megan Habbe, mining engineering, won the Outstanding Registered Student Organization Officer title for her work with Saluki Miners.


• Caitlin Moliske, biological sciences, 2010 Kaplan Memorial Scholarship Award, presented by the Beta Delta Chapter of Theta Xi Fraternity to the outstanding undergraduate student majoring in biological sciences.

Student Development presents the 2009-2010 Multi-Ethnic Academic Excellence Award each year to multi-ethnic high achievers who maintain an exceptional grade point average. This year’s award recipients, listed by hometown with major, are:



• Sara N. Eads, rehabilitation services.


• Ryan P. Unruh, automotive technology.


• Kendrick C. Coleman, accounting.

• Daryan S. Johnson, human nutrition and dietetics.


• Maria C. Zickert, dental hygiene.


• Malcolm J. Slack, finance.


• Shiana P. Beasley, information systems technologies.

• Tredene L. Davis, human nutrition and dietetics.

• Willie M. Gates, accounting.

• Benjamin D. Henderson, finance.

• Tamara Kang, psychology.

• Paulette M. Magee, radiologic sciences.

• Lonnie L. Mann, art.

• April M. Marlatt, athletic training.

• Ryan N. Martinez, special education.

• Tavon T. Pourboghrat, computer science.

• Christopher E. Pueblo, psychology.

• Miracle A. Thompson, recreation.


• Mariel N. Lazo, fashion design and merchandising.


• Holly P. Vu, radiologic sciences.

• Thuy P. Vu, radiologic sciences.


• Caryn M. Lopez, biological sciences.


• Luis M. Camargo, aviation flight.

• Khristina A. Dela Cruz, radio television.

• Isaac E. Diaz, elementary education.

• Nicholas O. Gresham, radio television.

• Shardaria F. Johnson, cinema and photography.

• Melanie C. Jones, engineering technology.

• Michelle Ly, dental hygiene.

• Alec R. Perry, communication disorders and sciences.

• James D. Redmond, cinema and photography.

• Danielle A. Rios, criminology and criminal justice.

• Shari Steele, radio television.

• Lewis L. Sutton, undecided pre-major.

• Monchito Trinidad, human nutrition and dietetics.

• Micquelyn M. Walker, psychology.

Chicago Heights

• Andre R. Riggins, marketing.

Country Club Hills

• Eric J. Terrell, accounting.

Des Plaines

• Jae M. Cohen, health care management.

• Gloria Hernandez, accounting.


• Sydney E. Clark, sociology.

Fairview Heights

• David D. Wilson, automotive technology.


• Ladiedre D. Rugen, animal science.


• Kamara F. Smith, civil engineering.

Hanover Park

• Justin P. Lim-Lantin, automotive technology.


• Michelle L. Bailey, art.


• Anabell Torres, Spanish.


• Pratik B. Patel, information systems technologies.

Johnston City

• Toni D. Whitfield, civil engineering.


• Kevin N. Wright, undecided pre-major.


• Bhrett A. Parrish, mathematics.

• Felipe Pincheira, mechanical engineering.


• Lynne A. Butler, accounting.


• Dominique D. Kemp, management.


• Rebecca J. Bilyeu, biological sciences.

New Lenox

• Jacqueline M. Bessette, English.


• Jessica Sanchez, early childhood.


• Karla P. Keller Avelar, administration of justice.

Oak Lawn

• Jordan R. Singer, elementary education.

Park Forest

• Camille R. Fletcher, elementary education.


• Matthew A. Todd, elementary education.


• Monique A. Bailey, psychology.

• Matthew J. Simpson, business economics.


• Joshua L. Cisneros, aviation technologies.


• A’Seret S. Dokubo, radio television.


• Reesha L. Robinson, accounting.


• Keenan C. Gil-McQuillan, psychology.

• Koleshcia A. Nelson, psychology.

St. Joseph

• Lenny J. Bolton, chemistry.


• Rachael E. Berbano, communication disorders and sciences.

Vernon Hills

• Jin W. Park, biological sciences.

Villa Park

• Elizabeth M. Hoder, hospitality and tourism administration.

West Frankfort

• David J. Rhoads, finance.


• Christine C. Minton, cinema and photography.


• Kwame Appiahene-Agyei, art.



• Mallory L. Duran, English.



• Meredith Hayes, marketing.



• Quincy C. Shelton, accounting.

North Carolina


• Joshua L. Mills, radiologic sciences.