May 18, 2010

Geography-environmental resources students cited

by Andrea Hahn

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Students in the Department of Geography and Environmental Resources at Southern Illinois University Carbondale recently presented a semester (or more) worth of research at an end-of-year reception. The department also announced several honors during the reception, both departmental and from outside agencies.

The David and Carol Christensen Award for Undergraduate Research in Geography and Environmental Resources, a monetary award, went to the research team presenting the research poster “Carbondale Foodshed Interaction Map.” The students in that group are: Megan Baskerville (Manhattan); Brock Harris (Galatia); Sarah Heck (Carbondale); and Katie Smith (Tinley Park). David Christensen, professor emeritus, established the award to reward geography students who focused on resources, and the relationship between the Earth and human beings. Research requirements for the award include gathering and analyzing data with an eye toward promoting sustainable use of resources.

Baskerville also earned the Priscilla Anne Moulton Memorial Scholarship and a Scholastic Achievement Senior Award as well.

Graduate student Amy Novak (St. Charles) received the Camp, Dresser and McKee Student Award, which goes to a student who has completed one year of graduate study in water resources management. Novak’s research is “The High Plains Aquifier: Adoption and Effectiveness of Sustainable Use in the Texas Panhandle.” The company established the award in 2004.

The Arey Award, established in 2001 through the David G. Arey Memorial Endowment Fund, went to Eric Wilke, currently ofCarbondale. The award is for innovative environmental thesis research. Wilke’s thesis title is, “The Influence of Geography and Physical Ecology on Economic Development.”

The Illinois Geographical Society named Matthew D. McIndoo (Oakbrook Terrace) the Outstanding Senior in Geography. McIndoo received a similar award from the department, along with several other seniors, including: Jeremy C. Birkey (Dewey), Megan Baskerville (Manhattan), Jeremy A. Graham (Russellville, Ala.), Johannas Mack (Crystal Lake), Brett E. Murphy (Elwood), and Chelsea Schroeder (Jerseyville).

Pawel A. Sawicki, currently of Carbondale, earned the Scholastic Achievement Junior Award and an Outstanding Junior in Geography award. Other Outstanding Juniors are: Alison M. Rosenberg (Peoria), Teresa R. Schoenherr (Springfield) andMakayla J. Trotter (Macomb).

Trotter also earned a Saluki Scholar Award and was a recipient of a Green Fund Grant, awarded for her work on local foods awareness.