May 13, 2010

Journalism students capture awards, scholarships

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Southern Illinois University Carbondale presented scholarships and awards to 25 outstanding students in the School of Journalism at recent award ceremonies.

Twenty-nine scholarships worth more than $19,600, along with several recognition awards, were presented at the annual awards banquet April 16 in the University’s Communications Building. The School of Journalism is within the College of Mass Communication and Media Arts.

Here is a list of scholarship winners, by hometown. Where available, the listing contains the winner’s name, year in school, major, scholarship name, and the amount.


Bartlett: Jeff Chandler, junior, advertising/integrated marketing communications. Journalism Faculty Emeritus Scholarship, $100.

Belleville: Erin Holcomb, junior, news/editorial. Polly Robinson Memorial Scholarship, $1,300.

Calumet City: Michará Canth, sophomore, news/editorial. Bill Harmon Scholarship, $100; William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, $400.

Brandon Willingham, freshman, news/editorial. Anne West-Lindsay Scholarship, $1,100.

Canton: Patrick Waldrop, junior, advertising/integrated marketing communications, and audio/video/TV production. Journalism Alumnus Scholarship, $250; Foote Scholarship for Off-Campus Study.

Carbondale: Brittany Johnson, junior, advertising/integrated marketing communications. Charles Feirich Memorial Scholarship, $700.

Julia Rendleman, second-year master’s student, photojournalism/photographic preservation. Evansville Courier & Press Scholarship,

Chicago: Kiara Ann Goodman, sophomore, news/editorial. Southern Illinois Editorial Association Scholarship, $600.

James Jones, sophomore, advertising/integrated marketing communications. Donald Hileman Memorial Scholarship, $200.

Khrystin Walters, junior, advertising/integrated marketing communications. James Murphy Memorial Scholarship, $200; Marcia Bullard Scholarship, $135.

Shontae Wilmore, sophomore, advertising/integrated marketing communications. Southern Illinois Editorial Association Scholarship, $600.

Flora: Danielle McGrew, sophomore, photojournalism. Linda K. Henson Photojournalism Scholarship, $700; Paisley Family Scholarship, $600.

Glen Carbon: Tara Kulash, freshman, undecided. Jim Bitterman Scholarship, $800.

Herrin: Ryan Voyles, sophomore, news/editorial. Harry W. and Helen Stonecipher Scholarship, $1,400.

Marion: Twangie Holman, junior, news/editorial. Charles C. Clayton Scholarship, $1,000.

Mt. Prospect: Erin Druger, sophomore, advertising/integrated marketing communications. Charlotte Thompson Suhler Advertising Award, $1,000.

Morrison: Michael Benson, sophomore, news/editorial. William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, $400.

Murphysboro: Christina Spakousky, sophomore, news/editorial. Judith Roales Scholarship, $500; Steven B. Hahn Memorial Scholarship, $400; Robert W. Davis Scholarship.

Nashville: Andrew Disper, junior, advertising/integrated marketing communications. Golden Quill Award, $100.

New Berlin: Julia Fromme, junior, advertising/integrated marketing communications. William Lyons Scholarship, $800.

New Lenox: Nicolette Holstein, sophomore, news/editorial. William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, $400; Studies Programs Education Diversity Initiative Grant.

Robbins: Lisa Brock, sophomore, news/editorial. Harry W. and Helen M. Stonecipher Scholarship, $1,400.

Rolling Meadows: Edyta Blaszczyk, junior, photojournalism. Michael Porcaro Scholarship, $1,400.

Sparta: Jacob Mayer, junior, news/editorial. Ray Serati-Ben Kinningham Illinois Legislative Correspondents Association Scholarship, $300; Michael Porcaro Scholarship, $1,400.

Xenia: Genna Ord, sophomore, news/editorial. Ryan Rendleman Memorial Photojournalism Scholarship, $1,400.