Leadership Council

Leadership training --The new Leadership Council at Southern Illinois University Carbondale is a group of 49 first-year students participating in a variety of leadership enhancement and involvement activities. Here, Joe Antonacci, of Breese, reaches above his fellow council members during a training exercise at Touch of Nature Environmental Center. (Photo provided) Download Photo Here

November 13, 2009

49 students selected for Leadership Council

by Christi Mathis

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Academic achievement and leadership aren’t new concepts for a select group of first-year students at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. But, the 49 chosen through the highly competitive selection process as members of the 2009-2010 Leadership Council have enhanced opportunities to really become campus leaders.

The Leadership Council offers the chance for students to get involved via a series of cultural, social, civic, leadership and educational programs. Participants make a one-year commitment to the programming that increases awareness, broadens cultural experiences, enhances leadership development and highlights involvement opportunities across the campus, said Amanda R. Phillips, coordinator of Student Development-Leadership and Involvement Programs.

“This helps keep them connected and involved. It’s an outstanding opportunity for students who have been involved in their high school or community college and desire to continue this level of involvement at SIUC,” Phillips said. She notes that retention rates are high when students are involved and the Leadership Council seeks to create active, engaged, involved campus leaders and role models.

Council members each receive $300 in book scholarships, half each semester, from the University Bookstore.

Members of the 2009-2010 SIUC Leadership Council, listed by hometown and including their major and parents’ names are:


• Megan Gebke, architecture, Mike and Mary Kay Gebke.


• Ashley Campbell, architecture, Dwayne Campbell of Cutler and Tracy Bruns of Benton.


• Joe Antonacci, mechanical engineering, Tony and Deb Antonacci.


• Ryan Dosier, cinema, John and Kay Dosier.

• Pawel Sawicki, geography and environmental resources, Mik and Krystyna Sawicki.

• Josi Young, business and marketing, Peppy Young and Julie Young.

Carol Stream

• Lauran Hon, political science, Bruce and Kim Hon.


• Jason Gumbel, biology/pre-dentistry, Jeff and Cindy Gumbel.

• Mary Vannice, pre-veterinary, Derek and Ann Vannice.

Custer Park

• Amy Lake, sonography, Jason and Laura Lake.


• Emily Anderson, microbiology, Terry and Cathy Anderson.


• Karissa Talbot, business management, Doug and Faye Talbot.

East Dubuque

• Jenna Schneider, accounting, Jim and Judy Schneider.


• Natalie Bohnhoff, psychology, Nancy Kessler and the late Merlin Bohnhoff.


• Brogan Gust, chemistry, Karl and Claudette Gust.


• Danielle McGrew, journalism and photography, Joe and Barbara McGrew.


• Carson Cates, cinema and photography, Ricky and Pam Cates.


• Laila Abdo, microbiology/music theory and composition, Dr. Samir and Ghada Abdo.


• Greg Guebert, civil engineering, Donald and Barbara Guebert.

• Tayler Williams, microbiology, Jeff and Tynette Jansen.


• Emily Berglin, administration of justice, Jay and Kalyn Berglin.

Marquette Heights

• Heidi Fuchs, zoology, Kenneth and Lisa Fuchs.


• Emily Horowitz, radiology, Steven and Deborah Lee.

Mt. Carmel

• Hayley Kennard, speech pathology, Wayne and Jeanie Kennard.

• Leah McPherson, interior design, Michael and Michelle McPherson.

• Lauren Zimmer, nutrition and dietetics, Tim and Sheri Zimmer.

Mt. Vernon

• Nick Sager, mechanical engineering, Perry and Ann Sager.


• Rachel Frichtl, animal science/pre-veterinary, Douglas and Mary Frichtl.


• Kaci Clark, psychology, David and Holly Clark.


• Rebecca Vanderjack, business undecided, Robert and Darlene Vanderjack.


• Ginny Helmer, radiologic sciences, Joe and Cindy Helmer.

Rock Island

• Kelsey Berryhill, anthropology, Patrick and Christie Berryhill.


• Braden Grant, business, Scott and Ann Grant.


• Reece Kruse, civil engineering, Kristie Blackman.


• Brock Kabat, pre-medicine/biology, Mark and Lori Kabat.


• Brooke Aldridge, psychology, David and Sheri Garascia.


• Lindsay DuBois, computer science, Thomas and Nancy DuBois.


• Alyssa Cooper, foreign language and international trade, Joseph Cooper and Greta Cooper.


• Abby Melin, French/international trade/Spanish, Bruce and Linda Melin.


• Caitlin Moliske, biology, Michael and Lori Moliske.

Villa Grove

• Olivia Arnold, special education, Paul and Cindy Arnold.

• Joe Gulick, pre-medicine, Greg and Tish Gulick.


• Linnea Anderson, communication disorders, Richard and Amber Harper.

West Frankfort

• Taylor Chance, mechanical engineering, Grey and Bethanne Chance.

• Tyler Chance, political science, Greg and Bethanne Chance.


• Tim Loftus, German/political science, Hubert and Susan Loftus.


• Josh Gaither, zoology, Thomas and Denise Gaither.


Forest City

• Alex Rauk, animal science. Jeff and Lori Rauk.



• Rachael Huszar, anthropology, Stephen and Susan Huszar.