May 27, 2009

Eight students earn Chancellor’s Scholarships

by Pete Rosenbery

ARBONDALE, Ill. -- Eight incoming freshman are recipients of Chancellor’s Scholarships from Southern Illinois University Carbondale.

The recipients were leaders in their high schools and their communities. The competitive scholarship awards go to students who score at least 29 on the ACT or 1300 on the SAT, and are in the 90th percentile of their graduating class. Scholarships are renewable each year for a total of four years for Chancellor’s Scholars maintaining at least a 3.0 grade point average. Each scholarship is valued at more than $40,000.

Chancellor’s Scholars visited the campus in January for interviews as part of the selection process.

These are the Chancellor’s Scholars, by hometown. Not all students submitted photos.



Trevor Ward, Edwards County High School, is the son of Steve and Bev Ward. He is an Illinois State Scholar, and a member of the National Honor Society. He earned Rotary Student of the Month honors. His activities include high school band, choir, student council, scholastic bowl, serving as vice president of the school’s Future Business Leaders of America, and being a member of the school’s ALPHA, or Adolescents Learning Positive Health Alternatives organization. He plans to enroll at SIUC as a pre-major.


Joe Antonacci, Mater Dei High School, is the son of Tony and Deb Antonacci. He plans to major in mechanical engineering.


Megan Ratts, Heyworth High School, is the daughter of Ted and Owenetta Ratts. She is an Illinois State Scholar. She is involved with her school’s Art Club, and Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering. She plans to major in zoology.


Emily Berglin, Lincoln Community High School, is the daughter of Jay and Kalyn Berglin. She is an Illinois State Scholar, her school’s National Honor Society president, and student body president. A three-sport athlete in basketball, soccer and volleyball, she earned State Journal-Register Senior Scholar Athlete Central State Eight Conference academic all-conference honors, and soccer all-conference honorable mention. She also was the school’s 2008 Homecoming Queen, and a D.A.R.E. role model. She plans to major in pre-law.


Andrew Murphy, Marshall High School, is the son of Matthew Murphy of Marshall and Nannette Steineman of Effingham. He is a member of the school’s National Honor Society, a band section leader, and a 4-H outstanding exhibitor in aerospace, computer science and electricity. A Scholastic Bowl member, he was Little Illini All-Conference top scorer. He also was involved with Future Business Leaders of American, Spanish and science clubs, and the Marshall Municipal Band. He plans to major in computer engineering/computer science.


Kristin Stevens, Mattoon High School, is the daughter of Mike and Lisa Stevens. She is an Illinois State Scholar and a National Honor Society member. She finished first in English in the WYSE sectionals in 2008. She participated in Drama Club, the Big Brothers-Big Sisters program at Arland D. Williams, Jr., Middle School, and served as an art tutor to a Mattoon Middle School student. She plans to major in English with a teaching certificate.



Graham Saiko, Castle High School, is the son of Edward and Suzzy Saiko. He ranks No. 1 in his graduating class of 396 students, and a member of the National Honor Society. Chosen one of 24 members of the Indianapolis Colts All-State Academic Team, he participated in the Ambassadors’ cross-age mentoring program for three years and was one of eight students to lead a high school sponsored elementary reading program. In athletics, he captained the high school football and basketball team. The three-year varsity starting quarterback also holds the school’s career and single season passing yardage records. He plans to major in sports medicine.


St. Charles

Colleen Hill, Francis Howell High School, is the daughter of Richard and Erin Hill of St. Charles. She is a member of the National Honor Society, and a four-year member of the school’s swimming and diving team. Her activities include working at volunteer at local stables providing horseback lessons. She plans to major in animal science.

Trevor WardMegan RattsEmily Berglin


Kristin StevensGraham SaikoColleen Hill