May 07, 2011

Political science students earn recognition

by Andrea Hahn

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- The Department of Political Science at Southern Illinois University Carbondale presented several students with scholarships and awards as they pursue degrees in political science.

Brooke N. Armstrong (Metropolis) received the Abbass Memorial Award, given annually to a graduating senior demonstrating outstanding academic achievement in political science. Armstrong also earned one of two John D. and Nancy Jackson Scholarships, given annually to an outstanding political science student from Illinois. Lacey Jo Vercellino (Mulkeytown) also earned a Jackson Scholarship.

The Daisy Powell Memorial Scholarship, honoring the wife of the late Illinois legislator and Secretary of State Paul Powell, went to Daniel C. Bristow (Godfrey).

Travis W. Taylor (Carterville) received the Orville Alexander Award, given to the junior majoring in political science with the highest grade point average. The award honors a former political science department chairman.

The Kurt Mueller Award, honoring a political science student who died unexpectedly in 2005, went to Kyle W. Fogwell (Carbondale).

Bianca R. Jackson (Alton), who also served as a student ambassador for the Paul Simon Public Policy Institute, received the Mark Russell Travel Award, which will offset study travel abroad.

Alexxa R. Condon (Channahon) earned the Randall Nelson Scholarship. That award goes to a student enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts who demonstrates an interest in politics, constitutional law, American history or law.

The College of Liberal Arts is holding two commencement ceremonies this weekend. Graduating political science majors participate in the commencement service at 5 p.m. on Sunday, May 10, in the SIU Arena.