May 05, 2009

History students win scholarships, awards

by Andrea Hahn

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- The Department of History at Southern Illinois University Carbondale presented departmental awards and scholarships to several students pursuing degrees in history.

Blaine Harvey (Champaign) earned the Norman Caldwell-James R. Sanders Scholarship, an award presented to a graduating senior in history. The award winner must also hold the highest grade point average in history courses among history majors who have completed their baccalaureate work at SIUC.

Three students earned History Alumni Awards based on their special promise as future historians. Students who win this award must also maintain a grade point average of 3.0 or higher. The students are Dylan Burns (Springfield), Glenda Sullivan (Murphysboro) and Charles Williams (Carbondale).

The William A. Pitkin Memorial Scholarship, awarded to outstanding students showing potential as historians, went to Paula Bilyeu (Carbondale) and Ashley E. McRaven (Jonesboro).

Cayla Diane Downs (Pana) and Rocky E. Cain (Creal Springs) earned John Leason Scholarships, a departmental award presented to upper classmen history majors who intend to teach history in secondary school. Students earning this award must be admitted to the Teacher Education Program.