April 27, 2009

Administration of Justice students win honors

by Andrea Hahn

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- The Center for the Study of Crime, Delinquency and Corrections at Southern Illinois University Carbondale recently admitted several students to the Alpha Phi Sigma Criminal Justice Honor Society, Alpha Iota Chapter, and announced scholarships for two other students.

Justin M. Francis, a graduating senior from Goreville, earned the Administration of Justice Academic Achievement Award. The honor goes each year to a senior based on academic performance.

Sabrina Criswell, a senior from Carbondale, earned an Administration of Justice Outstanding Senior Award. That award goes annually to a graduating senior whose academic excellence combines with professional achievement and service.

Alpha Phi Sigma is the only national honor society for criminal justice students. The society is open to top students, both undergraduate and graduate.

The following students, by hometown, qualified for membership:

• Beach Park: Katharine Thackaberry

• Carbondale: Tara Brown, Grant Drawve

• Irving: Eric Davis

• Marion: Jessie Thompson

• Olney: Chelsey Clark

• Shelbyville: Anna Johnson

• Sullivan: Witnee Cohan