April 24, 2009

Art and Design students win awards, scholarships

by Andrea Hahn

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- The School of Art and Design at Southern Illinois University Carbondale presented several art students with scholarships to help them begin or continue their studies. Some of the awards, presented earlier in the year, applied to the 2008-09 academic year.

Timothy N. Shepherd, from Carbondale, won the Benjamin T. Miller Memorial Art Scholarship, one of the most prestigious offered in the School of Art and Design. The award goes to a student with an excellent academic record.

The Art History Endowment Scholarship, a renewable scholarship based on standardized test scores, letters of recommendation, and a letter of academic goals and intention, belongs this year to Andrew Lee Alexander from East Peoria.

Two students won the Tony Fehm Memorial Award, presented to graduating seniors majoring in art history and holding a grade point average of at least 3.5. The students are Robin M. Hill, from Arlington Heights, and Catherine E. Shotick, from Peoria.

Three students earned John R. and Eleanor R. Mitchell Foundation Scholarships, which are awarded to incoming students from the lower 34 counties of Illinois, based on art portfolio reviews. The students are: Logan M. Randolph, from Benton; D’Juane T. Sargent, from O’Fallon; and Wesley B. Valdez, from Murphysboro.

Other incoming freshmen earned School of Art and Design Talent Scholarships, also based on their portfolios. Those students are: Katherine M. Adams, from Orland Park; Rachael N. McIndoo, from Oakbrook Terrace; D’Juane T. Sargent, from O’Fallon; Emily N. Struemph and Erica L. Struemph, both from Makanda; Logan M. Randolph, from Benton; and Wesley B. Valdez, from Murphysboro.

These scholarships are in addition to the competitive $20,000 Rickert-Ziebold Trust Award, given to the winners of a juried art exhibition each spring. This year’s winners are Charles Grant Cox III, from Eldorado, Joshua Ingold, from Cobden, and Jason Watts, from Washington, IL.