March 31, 2009

Finalists named for Rickert-Ziebold competition

by Andrea Hahn

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- The School of Art and Design at Southern Illinois University Carbondale announces the finalists in the annual Rickert-Ziebold Trust Award Competition.

The competition is open to graduating seniors in the art program at SIUC. Peter Chametzky, interim director of the School of Art and Design, noted the Rickert-Ziebold might be a student’s first introduction to peer competition and professional evaluation -- a true first step into the world as a professional artist.

The award was established in the memory of Joseph Rickert and his family. Rickert became a patron of the arts and he appreciated the role of SIUC in the cultural life of the entire Southern Illinois region. The award given in his name annually totals about $20,000. Some years there is a single winner, but more often the award is divided among two or more students.

Seniors who enter the competition first submit digital images of examples of their work. Finalists go on to the second step, which is to create an exhibit in the Surplus Gallery. Judging takes place the morning the exhibit opens. The announcement of the winners comes later that day.

This year, the exhibit opens at 11 a.m. on April 20, with an announcement of winners at 3:30 p.m. that day. The exhibit runs through April 25, with a reception and awards presentation beginning at 5:30 p.m. on April 24.

Here are this year’s finalists, by hometown:


• Bonnie -- Joel Lewis, communication design

• Chicago -- Alison Dunleavy, ceramics

• Cobden -- Joshua Ingold, sculpture

• Columbia -- Drew Haeffle, industrial design

• Crystal Lake -- Colette Johnson, general studio

• Downers Grove -- James Vena, ceramics

• Du Quoin -- Steven Willi, graphic design

• Eldorado -- Charles Grant Cox III, painting

• Irvington -- April Smith, painting

• Joliet -- Kyle Tezak, communication design

• Sparland -- Bruce Kitts, ceramics

• Springfield -- Allison Wood, glass

• St. Charles -- Christopher Potter, communication design

• Washington -- Jason Watts, ceramics

• Xenia -- Sarah Zink, ceramics


• Maplewood -- Kia Moua Kehrer, communication design