August 26, 2008

University to honor 95 employees for long service

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Southern Illinois University Carbondale will honor 95 employees for their service to the University during a service recognition and retirement reception and dinner at the Student Center.

The event is Wednesday, Aug. 27 in Student Center Ballrooms C and D. A reception begins at 6 p.m. in the John W. Corker Lounge. Dinner begins at 6:30 p.m.

Interim Chancellor Samuel Goldman will host the evening’s festivities. Jak Tichenor, a producer with SIUC’s Broadcasting Service, is master of ceremonies.

The University will recognize the following employees, listed by hometown and years of service.


Alto Pass

30 years: Richard A. Rivers, Accountancy.


25 years: Laurie E. Maggos, Recreational Sports and Services.


30 years: Dan Robert Jones, Curriculum and Instruction.


25 years: Charles B. Wyatt, Physical Plant Service.


25 years: Mary Jane Angelis, Affirmative Action Office; Philip B. Bankester, University Communications; Jeffrey R. Beaulieu, Agribusiness Economics; Julie Anne Beck, Intercollegiate Athletics; Clarence L. Boykins, AIS Office; John J. Bozzola, Research Development and Administration; Mona D. Brown, Vice President for Financial and Administrative Affairs; Bruce C. Chrisman, College of Engineering; Sally L. Dedecker, Clinical Center; Benedykt Dziegielewski, Geography and Environmental Resources; Phillip Richard Eberle, Agribusiness Economics; June Lorraine Fuson, SIU Foundation Carbondale; Regina Bresnan Glover, Health Education and Recreation; Agnes H. Goh, Information Technology; Leonard Gross, School of Law; Earl D. Hodges, Physical Plant Service; Manoranji Jeyaratnam, Mathematics; Thomas Martin Mitchell, Economics; William Floyd Olive, Center for English as a Second Language; Roberta M. Reeves, Library Affairs; Marilyn J. Richards, Information Technology; Beverly J. Robbins, Career Services; Subhash C. Sharma, Economics; Julie Sterner Sobery, Accountancy; Frank L. Stemper, School of Music; Jeffrey Ray Tally, Accounting Services; Leigh A. Tiebout, ASA School of Allied Health; Ramanarayanan Viswanathan, College of Engineering; Cheryl D. Walton, Curriculum and Instruction; Mehdi R. Zargham Computer Science.

30 years: Bradley Jay Brooks, Physical Plant Service; Robert L. Brown, Printing and Duplicating Service; Nancy Buffum Carr, Information Technology; Robert S. Corruccini, Anthropology; Philip Feinsilver, Mathematics; Roseanne Gard, Geography and Environmental Resources; Carolin M. Harvey, Division of Continuing Education; Carol Ann Henry, Budget Office; Bobby E. Lee, Enrollment Management; Phillip A. Lindberg, International Students and Scholars; Yasoda Modali, Student Health Center; Jarvis Cedric Morgan, Physical Plant Service; Braiger Oneal, University Housing; Daniel Arthur Primont, Economics; Evelyn L. Roseman, Records and Registration; Linda B. Seibert, College of Business; Lawrence Dale Shelton, Evaluation and Developmental Center; John H. Summey, Marketing; Denise L. Szaro, Information Technology; Sandra K. Taylor, Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor; Tedi L. Thomas, Anthropology.

35 years: Ronald A. Browning, Physiology, School of Medicine-Carbondale; Anthony Cuvo, Rehabilitation Institute; Norma Jean Ewing, College of Education and Human Services; Joseph Karmos, Educational Psychology and Special Education; George E. Schedler, Philosophy; William J. Tally, Library Affairs; Patricia K. Welch, Animal Science Food and Nutrition.

40 years: Michael C. Batinski, History; Richard F. Bortz, Workforce Education and Development; Phyllis J. Zimmerman, Bursar.

45 years: Phyllis M. McCowen, ASA School of Allied Health.


25 years: John Douglas Bogard, University Farms; Paula Jean Clendenen, Financial Aid Office, Tommie Lee Rayford, Cinema and Photography.

30 years: Charles R. Campbell, Information Technology; Karen Jennings, Graduate School.


25 years: Sharon A. Harward, College of Engineering; Joseph Thomas Masden, Physics.

30 years: Gregory Philip White, Management.


25 years: Judi L. Cockrum, Mechanical Engineering and Energy Processes.

De Soto

25 years: Thomas Norris Carter, Physical Plant Service; Rhonda Lynn Hooper, Institutional Research and Studies.

30 years: Charlotte Keller, School of Medicine Carbondale Administration.


30 years: Connie L. Small, Graduate School.


25 years: Sheryl Sue King, Animal Science Food and Nutrition; Agnieszka Szary, MEDPREP/Medical Education Preparatory-School of Medicine, Carbondale.

30 years: David G. King, Anatomy.

35 years: Katherine A. Jacobson, Zoology.


30 years: Michael Masoner, Accountancy.


40 years: Richard Dennis Schablowsky, University Housing.


25 years: James E. Braeutigam, Physical Plant Service; Bruce A. Devantier, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Sandra L. McRoy, Economics; Ralph John Robertson, School of Law; Laura J. Sims, Speech Communications; Rosanne M. Szekely, ASA School of Allied Health; Peggy Ann Wilken, Health Education and Recreation.

30 years: Donna P. Johnson, Library Affairs, Brian P. Klubek, Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems.

35 years: Barbara J. Anderson, Human Resources.