May 15, 2008

Workforce Education students win scholarships

by K.C. Jaehnig

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- More than $18,000 in scholarships will support 20 undergraduate and graduate students in the Department of Workforce Education and Development at Southern Illinois University Carbondale next fall.

The department made the grants last month during a ceremony at Shryock Auditorium, held as part of the University's Honors Day celebrations. A reception followed at the Student Center on campus.

Doctoral students Sally E. Arnett, Nicole L. Davis and Joyce R. Robinson each received $3,000 Letitia Walsh home economics scholarships, based in part on evidence of leadership potential and professional objectives.

Master's students Tasha L. Coney and Beverly K. Shepherd each received $2,000 Anna C. Fults awards, given to graduate students in home economics who have demonstrated leadership in the profession. Preference goes to those who have contributed to international concerns.

Master's student Jason C. Bruce and doctoral student V. Marie Vicher both received $500 Marita Weaver Steward scholarships, generally given to students from Alexander, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union or Williamson counties.

Doctoral student Sandra D. Barton received the $500 George and Dianna Williams scholarship endowment, given to graduate students who earned undergraduate degrees in one of the department's off-campus programs with a grade-point average of at least 2.75 on a 4.0 scale.

Doctoral student Thomas W. Hovatter received the $400 Wayne S. Ramp educational leadership award.

Doctoral student Ali Alghazo received the $300 Ruston James Carter award, given to students with an interest in computer applications.

Doctoral student Eric P. Matthews received the $300 William E. Nagel award for documented evidence of leadership. The department's advisory council selects the winner of this award.

Senior Dawn E. Kentch received the $250 W. Russell Withers Jr. endowed scholarship given to students in an off-campus undergraduate program with demonstrated academic potential.

Eight undergraduate students received the department's various excellence awards, all conferring $300 grants.

Business education excellence awards went to seniors Kyle R. Hauenstein of Mediapolis, Iowa, and Kimberly S. Knop of Steeleville.

Education, training and development excellence awards for students in off-campus programs went to junior Nicole Y. Johnson and senior John M. May.

Other education, training and development excellence awards went to seniors Angela M. Bailey of Carrier Mills and Shirley Dillon-Reed of Herrin.

Family and consumer excellence awards went to junior Jamie D. Dotson of Herrin and senior Emily S. Patterson.