April 10, 2008

Trustees OK academic promotions, tenure awards

by K.C. Jaehnig

CARBONDALE, Ill. — The Southern Illinois University Board of Trustees, meeting today (April 10) in Edwardsville, ratified 39 academic promotions and 28 tenure awards for SIUC faculty members. Both take effect with next year's contract.

Following is list of those promoted (grouped by rank, with academic units and places of residence, where available, noted). Those receiving tenure have a "t"in parentheses after their names.

• From associate professor to professor:

Daren Callahan, library affairs (Carbondale); John W. Groninger, forestry (Murphysboro); Wen-Chi Hou, computer science (Carbondale); Steven J. Karau, management (Carbondale); Manoj K. Mohanty, mining and mineral resources engineering (Carbondale); Alice M. Noble-Allgire, law (Carterville); Jacob M. Rose (t), accountancy (Carbondale); Xuhong Shang (t), art and design; Matt R. Whiles, zoology; Michael E. Young, psychology (Herrin); Kay M. Zivkovich, art and design (Murphysboro).

• From assistant professor to associate professor:

Najjar Abdul-Musawwir (t), art and design (Carbondale); Samir Aouadi (t), physics (Herrin); Sara G. Beardsworth (t), philosophy (Carbondale); Lisa B. Brooten (t), radio-television (Carbondale); George E. Boulukos (t), English (Carbondale); Michael A. Burgener (t), aviation technologies (Carterville); Dunren Che (t), computer science (Makanda); Scott A. Comparato (t), political science (Carbondale);

Joan M. Davis (t), allied health (Carbondale); Ronda R. Demattei, allied health (Marion); Michael W. Eichholz (t), zoology (Murphysboro); Shahira Fahmy (t), journalism (Carbondale); Martin A. Hebel (t), information systems and applied technologies (Marion); Michael R. Hoan (t), psychology (Herrin); Judy L. Jordan (t), English (Anna); Jerzy Kocik (t), mathematics (Carbondale); Suzanne A. Nasco (t), marketing (Carbondale); Tonny J. Oyana (t), geography and environmental resources (Carbondale);

Jacob J. Podber (t), radio-television (Carbondale); Benjamin F. Rodriguez II (t), psychology (Murphysboro); Anna M. Rose (t), accountancy (Carbondale); Eric Schauber (t), zoology (Carbondale); Peter B. Smith (t), architecture (St. Louis); Heewon Yang (t), health education and recreation (Murphysboro); Ling Zang (t), chemistry and biochemistry (Carbondale); Natasha Zaretsky (t), history (Carbondale).

In addition, assistant scientists Clayton K. Nielsen (Carbondale) from the Cooperative Wildlife Research Laboratory and Heather A. Lapham (Carbondale) from the Center for Archeological Investigations received promotions to associate scientist, while D. Shane Koch (De Soto) of the Rehabilitation Institute received tenure.