September 12, 2006

Honorary Inaugural Committee extends invitation to inauguration ceremony

Michael Ruiz, Communications Director, Office of the President

The Honorary Inaugural Committee invites all Southern Illinois University students, faculty and staff and the public to attend the installation of Dr. Glenn Poshard as the seventh president of Southern Illinois University. The ceremony will begin at 2 p.m. Sept. 28 (Thursday) at the SIU Arena in Carbondale, Ill. Casual attire is permitted.

The members of the Honorary Inaugural Committee include:

Rod Blagojevich, Governor

Jerry Costello, U.S. Representative

Tom Cross, Minority Leader, State Representative

Richard Durbin, U.S. Senator

Emil Jones Jr., Senate President, State Senator

Ray LaHood, U.S. Representative

Michael Madigan, Speaker of the House, State Representative

Barack Obama Jr., U.S. Senator

John Shimkus, U.S. Representative

Frank Watson, Minority Leader, State Senator

Guy Alongi, Chair, Illinois Community College Board

Harold Bardo, Director, MEDPREP; Chair, SIU Presidential Search Committee

Margaret Blackshere, President, Illinois AFL-CIO

Susan Breck, President, SIUE Faculty Senate

Jay Brooks, President, SIUC Civil Service Council

Thomas Caliper, Business Manager, Plumbers and Pipefitters Union Local 551

Brad Colwell, Chair, SIUC Graduate Council

Constantine Curris, President, American Association of State Colleges and Universities

Larry DeJarnett, President, SIUC Foundation

Randy Dunn, Superintendent, Illinois State Board of Education

Radcliffe G. Edmonds, Jr., SIUE, Associate Professor, Economics and Finance; Director, School of Business, Office of International Programs

Sam Gaines, President, School of Medicine Alumni Board of Governors

Charlotte Gibson, Chair, SIUC Administrative and Professional Staff Council

Samuel Goldman, SIU Board of Trustees

Jean Harrison, President, SIUE Graduate Council

Ed Hightower, SIU Board of Trustees

Sheri Hunter, President, SIU Alumni Association

James Kaplan, Chair, Illinois Board of Higher Education

Richard Legon, President, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges

Larry Lexow, President, SIUE Alumni Association Board

M. Peter McPherson, President, National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges

Carl Mitchell, President, SIUE Student Senate

Richard H. Moy, Former Dean and Provost, SIU School of Medicine

Akeem Mustapha, President, SIUC Undergraduate Student Government

David Oates, President, SIUE Foundation Board

Jesse Phelps, SIU Board of Trustees

Jon Pressley, President, SIUC Graduate and Professional Student Council

Jesse Ruiz, Chair, Illinois State Board of Education

Keith Sanders, SIU Board of Trustees

John Simmons, SIU Board of Trustees

Lucy Sloan, Vice Chair, Illinois Board of Higher Education

Edward Smith, Vice President, Regional Manager, and Assistant to the General President, Laborers’ International Union of North America

Kyle Stunkel, President, SIUE Staff Senate

Roger Tedrick, Chair, SIU Board of Trustees

David Ward, President, American Council on Education

Douglas Whitley, President and CEO, Illinois State Chamber of Commerce

Stephen Wigginton, SIU Board of Trustees

Marquita Wiley, SIU Board of Trustees

David Worrells, President, SIUC Faculty Senate