July 11, 2006

Four win Roscoe Pulliam Scholarships

by Greg Scott

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Fahran K.J. Robb of Pinckneyville, Christopher Lee Jakes of O'Fallon, Scott Wangen Geiger of Carbondale, and Andrea Lynn Taylor of Sims are the recipients of the 2006 Roscoe Pulliam Scholarship.

The Roscoe Pulliam Scholarship Fund awards four scholarships valued at $1,000 each to Southern Illinois University Carbondale students. Recipients must be closely related to an SIUC alumnus or alumna who is a current member of the SIU Alumni Association.

Robb is a senior majoring in agricultural systems and political science. A three-time recipient of the Pulliam Scholarship, Robb was selected to the USA Today's All-USA Academic Team her junior year at Southern. She has been a Dean's List student throughout her career at Southern. Robb's academic accolades also include the Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society, Alpha Zeta Professional Society, Gamma Beta Phi National Honor Society, and Outstanding Student Honor Society.

A member of the SIU Alumni Association, Robb has prospered in numerous registered student organizations on campus. She is a member of Student Alumni Council, the student chapter of the SIU Alumni Association. Robb has served as an "Agbassador," a student recruitment organization in the University's College of Agricultural Sciences. She received the Outstanding "Agbassador" award in 2005. In addition, she has served as president of the Kellogg Hall Executive Council, president and public relations chairperson for Ag Council, and senator in SIUC's

Undergraduate Student Government. A student life advisor on campus, Robb is a two-time Provost Scholar honoree. She is the daughter of Samuel and Myrna Robb (4590 Wren Road, Pinckneyville).

Geiger is a sophomore majoring in exercise science. He was a Dean's List Student at Southern during the spring 2006 semester. Prior to transferring to SIUC, Geiger earned the John LaRue Memorial Scholarship for excellence in academics, leadership, community service and individual merit at the University of Mississippi. He also received the Academic Excellence Scholarship for attaining an ACT score of 26 or higher.

Geiger graduated with honors from Carterville High School in 2005. He was a National Honor Roll recipient, and academic letter award winner from 2001 to 2005. He also lettered in football, basketball and track at the school, and earned the Carterville Education Association Scholarship. He is the son of Jon and Laurie Geiger (1454 Morningglory Road, Carbondale).

Jakes is a senior majoring in mechanical engineering. A Dean's List student, Jakes has been honored by the Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society and Tau Beta Pi National Honor Society. He earned the College of Engineering's tuition waiver award, and has received University honors for high marks in mathematics and psychology.

In high school, Jakes received accolades from the National Honor Society and Spanish Honor Society. He lettered in soccer during his sophomore, junior, and senior years. He is the son of Randi Marquis (1302 Broadmoor Drive, O'Fallon).

Taylor is a senior majoring in speech-language pathology. A Dean's List student for six consecutive semesters, she has received the Nichols Memorial Grant Award, R.J. Fligor College of Education and Human Services Alumni Award, and John O. Jones General Assembly Award. Taylor also earned Southern Illinois University Scholastic Honors last semester.

During her high school career, Taylor was an Illinois State Scholar, National Honor Roll recipient, and honored by Who's Who Among American High School Students. She received the Mid-South All-Conference Academic Award, Graduation Honor Marshal, and Senior of the Year award. She is the daughter of Thomas and Very Taylor (post office box listing, Sims).