March 30, 2006

Undergraduates to showcase research findings

by K.C. Jaehnig

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Fifty of Southern Illinois University Carbondale's brightest undergraduates will showcase their research findings in poster format from 1 to 3:30 p.m. Monday, April 3, in the Student Center's Corker Lounge outside the ballrooms. An awards ceremony for the best of the best will take place at 3:30 p.m.

Now in its fifth year, this Undergraduate Research Forum aims to celebrate the scholarly and creative achievements of undergraduates and their University mentors as part of REACH, an acronym that stands for Research-Enriched Academic Challenge. SIUC's Office of Research Development and Administration coordinates the campus-wide program and with the Office of the Provost and SPEAR (Students Promoting Educational Advancement and Research) sponsors the annual forum.

Poster judges this year included Frank E. Anderson of zoology, Laura A. Bell of the University Honors Program, Steven P. Belletire of art and design, Kathleen Chwalisz of psychology, Daniel J. Dyer of chemistry and biochemistry. Regina M. Foley of educational psychology and special education, C. Andrew Hofling of anthropology, Karen L. Jones of animal science, food and nutrition, Josephine D. Korchmaros of psychology, Melinda LaGarce of architecture, Charla Lauter of allied health, Tonny J. Oyana of geography and environmental sciences, John S. Russin of plant, soil and agricultural systems, Julia M. Spears of ORDA, Kenneth W. Stikkers of philosophy, Robert H. Swenson or architecture, S. Alan Walters of plant, soil and

agricultural systems, Frank M. Wilhelm of zoology, Dale E. Wittmer of mechanical engineering and energy processes and Kay M. Zivkovich of art and design.

The poster presentations are part of a larger Research Day put together by Phi Delta Kappa, Phi Kappa Phi, Sigma Xi, the Society for Neuroscience and the Illinois Junior Science and Humanities Symposium.

Promoting excellence in undergraduate academics is among the goals of Southern at 150: Building Excellence Through Commitment, the blueprint the University is following as it approaches its 150th anniversary in 2019.