January 07, 2005

Thirteen students win scholarships

by Pete Rosenbery

CARBONDALE, Ill. — Thirteen students in Southern Illinois University Carbondale’s automotive technology program this fall received more than $22,000 in scholarships.

"These kids are our top students," said department chairman Jack Greer.

"They are picked by the entire faculty. They are all-around good kids," said Greer, noting many students participate in extra-curricular activities in school, the community and with the Automotive Technology Organization, a registered student organization.

Corporations like the quality of students they get from SIUC, and are willing to invest money to help produce more of those students, Greer said.

"They want to invest in these students because they want to hire them when they graduate," he said.

The students received their one-time awards during the fall Automotive Technology Advisory Committee meeting. Faculty members review the scholarship applications and accompanying student essays.

Ford Motor Co. donated $16,000 in scholarships, the fifth year the automaker has done so, Greer said. Typically, the automaker hires six or seven students from the department’s program each year.

Greer anticipates the department will distribute another $6,000 in scholarships in the spring from sponsors including Toyota and TAC automotive. Greer said the faculty has worked hard over the years to build the scholarship program, which also serves as a great recruiting tool.

Strengthening the undergraduate scholarship program is among the goals of Southern at 150: Building Excellence Through Commitment, the blueprint for the development of the University by the time it celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2019.

Here is a list of the scholarships, the scholarship recipient by hometown, and award:

Edward Wright Scholarship

Moline: James A. Stout, senior, $1,500.
Arthur T. Ross Scholarship

• Wayne City: Ryne M. Thomason, junior, $1,000.

Ford Motor Co. Scholarship

Carterville: Tony R. Roberts, senior, $2,000.
Chicago: David Montelongo, sophomore, $2,000.
Chicago: Omar C. Trinidad, junior, $2,000.
East Alton: Justin C. Morgan, senior, $2,000.
Freeburg: Nathan D. Wiskamp, senior, $2,000.
Roselle: George R. Fram, senior, $2,000.
West Chicago: Freddy Lopez, senior, $2,000.
St. Thomas, Barbados: Hugh A. Brathwaite, junior, $2,000.

L.D. Willey Scholarship

Quincy: Jared L. Busen, senior, $400.

James E. White Scholarship

Eads, Tenn.: Eric C. Napple, senior, $500.

Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association

Quincy: Jared L. Busen, senior, $1,500.

SIUC College of Applied Sciences and Arts Tuition Waiver

Naperville: Nicholas O. Mitchell, freshman, $1,200.