September 29, 2004

Law school induction ceremony is Sept. 30

by K.C. Jaehnig

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- There are 122 first-year law students taking part in a Southern Illinois University School of Law induction ceremony set for 5 p.m. Friday, Sept. 30, in the Carbondale Civic Center. Illinois Supreme Court Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier will preside.

An SIUC tradition since 2001, the ceremony aims to emphasize the seriousness of the students' studies and the professionalism their field demands. The ritual includes the recitation of an oath of professional commitment, drafted by the students themselves after completing a series of workshops related to legal ethics and other professional issues.

Those greeting the inductees will include Joseph R. Bartylak, associate director of the Lawyers' Assistance Program for outreach in downstate counties, and the law school's first fellows in a new law school program named for him. Launched this past summer with unclaimed funds from the MCI national class action suit, the Bartylak Fellowship Program annually awards $2,000 stipends to as many as five SIUC law students who accept unpaid summer internships with groups, agencies or organizations that serve the public good.

The 2005 Fellows include third-year student Aaron D. Calvert of Taylorville, second-year student Anne Plohr Rayhill of Morton, third-year student Joseph D. Reed of Darlington, Ind., and third-year student Emily E. Scott of Rock Island.

Calvert, a 2002 graduate of Western Illinois University, is the son of George W. and Susan L. Calvert of Taylorville (608 Northern Ave.). Rayhill, a 1989 graduate of Florida State University, is the daughter of the late William J. Plohr and Janet G. Plohr, now living in Sherman (810 Mallard Way). Reed, a 2002 graduate of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, is the son of the late Eugene J. Reed and Mary Ann Reed of Darlington (405 Harrison St.). Scott, a 2003 graduate of the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, is the daughter of William S. and Mary A. Scott of Rock Island (1202 42nd Ave.).

Achieving excellence in graduate and professional programs is among the goals of Southern at 150: Building Excellence Through Commitment, the blueprint for the development of the University by the time it celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2019.

Other students taking part in the ceremony (listed by hometown) include:

Anna: Samantha Smith-Fulia

Bartlett: Glenn Katayama

Belleville: Nicole Klingler

Belvidere: Ryan Straw

Bethalto: Brian Reinhart

Blue Island: Brian Lambert

Bonnie: Julie Blanks

Burr Ridge: Silpa Chukkapalli

Carbondale: David Benney, Ernesto Delgadillo, Christopher Galanos, Jason Leonard,

Jesse Rochman, Timothy Ting

Carlinville: Jonathan Verticchio

Carlyle: Timothy Hudspeth

Carmi: Anna Ackerman

Carol Stream: Prachi Potdar

Carrollton: Jennifer Uhles

Caseyville: Blake Meinders

Champaign: Amanda Willette

Charleston: Matthew Caraway, Tyler Weaver

Chicago: Jennifer Dohrn, Clayton Herriford, Kristen Johnson, Lisa Turner

Collinsville: Stephanie Vojas

Coulterville: Amy Campbell

Country Club Hills: Tionn Fambro

Darien: Bradley Hauge

Decatur: Michael Sinha

Du Quoin: Francinda Lingle

Eldorado: Kristen James

Evanston: Arcacia Glenn

Fairview Heights: Adrienne Ward

Farmington: Jessie Mahr

Flora: Brandon Batchelor

Galatia: Jonathan Cantrell

Glen Carbon: Melissa Curran, David Fields, Michael Schmidt, Mandy Williams

Godfrey: Brady Barke

Goreville: Jason Hammond

Hamilton: Jason Pohren

Harrisburg: Matthew Oshel

Herrin: Amber Jeralds, Darrell Walker

Hidalgo: John Blade

Iuka: Levi Burkett

Jacksonville: David Fox, Wendell Sheeley

Johnston City: Elizabeth Kee, Brandon Zanotti

LeRoy: Megan Ambrose

Mahomet: Lindsay Weyhrich

Marion: James Lambert, Gregory Odom, Charles Shepard

Marshall: Catherine Yargus

Metropolis: Cord Wittig

Milan: Jeffrey Wright

Murphysboro: Karen Borre

Murrayville: Amber Gray

Neponset: David Pratt

Normal: Laura Veerman

Northbrook: Kevin Stelzer

O'Fallon: Jamie McCarthy

Olney: Craig Runyon

Pawnee: Natalie Gregory

Payson: Jason Schutte

Pekin: James Kriegsman

Peoria: Melodi Green, Kouri Marshall

Pittsburg: Amy Ragan

Pittsfield: James Thompson

Poplar Grove: Michael Schultz

Prairie du Rocher: Paul Ray

Quincy: Christopher Blaesing

Ringwood: Daniel Myers

Riverside: Brian Albazzaz

Robinson: Wade Shimer

Rockford: Yi Lee

Roodhouse: Caleb Briscoe

St. Elmo: Lyndon Willms

Schaumburg: Andrew Fisk

Shorewood: Andrea Jones

Springfield: Andrew Affrunti, Elizabeth Gastelum, Jessica Reese, Matthew Schall, Elizabeth Watts

Stewardson: Teresa Riley

Urbana: Andrew Roszak

Westville: Ashley Nagrodski


Rocklin: Tameka McDonald

San Francisco: Michael Darflinger

Soquel: Jennifer Kelly


Evergreen: Carrie Slinkard

Fort Collins: Juliet Kiltz


Orlando: Sarah Nabors


Cedar Falls: Erin Piscitelli


Paducah: Jessica Fletcher, Joseph Roark


Maple Grove: John Persell


Hazelwood: Carmen Joiner

Saint Louis: Calvin Choi, Christal Baird Horj, Misty Hahn, Scott Kehlenbrink, Timmi

Kloster, Derek Ruzicka

Saint Peters: Michael Dalton


Clarksdale: Oliver Clark


Truth Or Consequences: Carmen Filosa


White Plains: Brendan Sullivan


Stow: Rosannie Troche


West Sunbury: Alexandra Kovalchick


Cumberland Furnace: Michael Baggett


Logan: Troy Rasmussen


Madison: Luke DeSmet