July 08, 2004

Twenty-six students earn scholarships

by Paula M. Davenport

(Editors, note local names.)

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Twenty-six collegians captured an impressive $19,750 in scholarships to continue their journalism studies at Southern Illinois University Carbondale this fall.

Announcement of the awards came during the School of Journalism's annual banquet, held at the end of the academic year at Giant City State Park Lodge in Makanda.

The "J" school, housed in the University's College of Mass Communication and Media Arts, is nationally known for producing high-quality graduates. Promoting excellence in undergraduate academics is among the goals of Southern at 150: Building Excellence Through Commitment, the blueprint for the development of the University by the time it celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2019.

A list of scholarship winners, awards, journalism study concentrations and parents' names, where available, alphabetically by hometown:

Anna: Laura K. Taylor, advertising, Charlotte Thompson Suhler Advertising Award, $1,200, daughter of Cathleen Belcher of Anna and Larry G. Taylor of Ullin.

  • Arlington Heights: Meredith Halas, news-editorial, $500.
  • Benton: Kristina Herndobler, news-editorial, Judith Roales Scholarship, $2,000.
  • Carbondale: Sydney Dillard, advertising, Charles Feirich Memorial Scholarship, $500;
    Brad Henderson, advertising Donald Hileman Memorial Scholarship, $250;
    Rachel Lindsay, Charles C. Clayton Scholarship, $1,000;
    Jesse L. Nelson, news-editorial, William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, $500;
    Nancy Remkus, photojournalism, Journalism Alumnus Scholarship, $250.
  • Carrollton: Katherine Howard, advertising, Small-Seright Scholarship, $800.
  • Champaign: Valerie Donnals, news-editorial, William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, $1,000;
    Jenna Hoerr, advertising, Southern Illinois Editorial Association Scholarship, $600.
  • Chicago: Kendra Hardy, advertising, Harry Stonecipher Recruiting Scholarship, $500.
    Drew H. Stevens, news-editorial, Southern Illinois Editorial Association Scholarship, $600, son of Nathaniel H. and Pamela Stevens.
  • Danville: Joel Gray, advertising, Journalism Faculty Emeritus Scholarship, $250.
  • Harrisburg: Jesse L. Nelson, news-editorial, William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, $500, son of David C. and Mona R. Nelson.
  • Hoffman Estates: Inishaka Smith, advertising, James Murphy Memorial Scholarship, $500.
  • Kankakee: Marques Ryan Anderson, advertising, Golden Quill Award, $250.
  • O'Fallon: Brian Feldt, news-editorial, Howard R. Long Journalism Scholarship, $500.
  • Rantoul: Amanda D. Whitlock, photojournalism, Linda K. Henson Photojournalism Scholarship, $750, daughter of George A. and Janet L. Whitlock.
  • Rockford: Amber N. Ellis, news-editorial, Ray Serati Illinois Legislative Correspondents Association Scholarship, $650, daughter of Clinton and Christine Ellis.
    Ashley T. Richardson, news-editorial, Paisley Family Scholarship, $600, daughter of Brenda M. Thompson.
  • Salem: Andrew Steavens, advertising, Steven B. Hahn Memorial Scholarship, $950.
  • Sandoval: Leah N. Williams, news-editorial, Polly Robinson Memorial Scholarship, $1,200, daughter of Patricia K. Williams.
  • Sparta: Wayne Utterback, news-editorial, Karl Monroe Scholarship, $800.
  • Springfield: Elaine A. Rashmawy, news-editorial, Harry W. and Helen M. Stonecipher Scholarship, $2,000, daughter of Jamal J.and Afaf J. Rashmawy.
  • Sullivan: Katie Davis, news-editorial, Bill Harmon Scholarship, $300, and William Lyons Scholarship, $800.


  • St. Louis: Lindsey J. Mastis, news-editorial, William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, $500, daughter of Frank G. and Vicki A. Mastis.