April 29, 2004

SIUC students capture multi-ethnic awards

by Tom Woolf

CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Forty-seven multi-ethnic students at Southern Illinois University Carbondale earned recognition during this year's eighth annual All-Campus Leadership Awards Program.

The students received certificates and lapel pins during the April 22 ceremony, held in the Student Center. Student Development's Multicultural Programs and Services, which sponsors the program, also recognized Black Leaders Actively Communicating Knowledge (BLACK) and the Student Alumni Council. Both are registered student organizations.

BLACK received the Spirit of Diversity Award, while the alumni council received the Spirit of Diversity Honorable Mention Award. The award is given to the registered student organization that best demonstrates its belief in, and support for, cultural pluralism and diversity through the type and number of inclusive programs it provided during the academic year. There are more than 400 registered student organizations on campus.

The leadership awards program recognizes students on the Deans' List for a minimum of two consecutive semesters. Each student also must maintain a minimum 3.0 grade-point average.

Shaping high-quality undergraduate programs is among the goals of Southern@150, the blueprint for the development of the University by the time it celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2019.

Award winners appear by hometown in Illinois, followed by out-of-state winners.

(Editors: One or more of the students on this list is from your coverage area.)

Adrian Soto, senior, marketing.

Romita B. Patel, senior, finance.

Chanta N. Thomas, senior, accounting.

David Torres, senior, aviation.

Alejandra Villafuerte, senior, psychology.

Jennifer D. Franklin, senior, information systems technologies.

Marcela Angel, senior, art.
Neha Arora, junior, accounting.
Geraldine Casuela, senior, information systems technologies.
Raisha A. Diggs, senior, information systems technologies.
Jessica L. Hayes, senior, finance.
Jalonta Yvette Jackson, senior, social work.
Rosalia C. Murillo, senior, art.
Terrence M. Nance, senior, information systems technologies.
Patrick C. Novak, senior, English.
Michael W. Pedraza, junior, marketing.
Antonia G. Radek, senior, early childhood education.
Elias Velasco, senior, mechanical engineering.
Tracie C. Williams, sophomore, education and human services.

Raimsalath K. Phetchareun, senior, management.

Tekecia M. Burks, sophomore, finance.
Lathia H. Davison, senior, information systems technologies.
Esteban DelValle, sophomore, art.
Marchello T. Holman, senior, management.
Jennifer L. Jones, senior, management.
Man Chung Ko, junior, computer science.
Laniya M. Moore, sophomore, paralegal studies.
Maurice A. Patterson, senior, aviation.

Serina Sota, senior, early childhood education.

Downers Grove
Paul J. Haenke, senior, aviation management.

Du Quoin
Lenita H. Peters, senior, information systems technologies.

Troy A. Petersen, senior, civil engineering.

Ismat J. Cheema, sophomore, history.

Hoffman Estates
Glenn F. Katayama, junior, mortuary science and funeral service.

Pedro C. Gonzalez Medina, senior, mechanical engineering.

Anitra Y. Clemons, senior, radiologic sciences.
Narcrisha S. Norman, senior, mechanical engineering.

Olympia Fields
Alaina M. Tandy, senior, mechanical engineering.

Danny T. Ho, senior, sociology.

Amoneeta S. Beckstein, senior, psychology.

Stepheena M. Jackson, senior, marketing.

Klairoong Pattumma, senior, forestry.

Temitope A. Oshodi, senior, biological sciences.

Jinson Vachachira, senior, electronic systems technologies.



Fair Haven
Ernest G. Menocal, senior, art.



Anthony J. Schumacher, senior, information technology.